Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > Kit Building
Reload this Page >

How flat for a building board?

Community
Search
Notices
Kit Building If you're building a kit and have questions or want to discuss kit building post it here.

How flat for a building board?

Search this Thread

Old 05-08-2008, 04:32 PM
mikenlapaz

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default How flat for a building board?

I'm new to kit building would like to get an idea of just how level building boards should be. I do not want to invest the time and materials and have an inherent problem of using an unsuitable surface.

I opted to purchase a building board http://www3.towerhobbies.com/cgi-bin/wti0001p?&I=LXVZ63 and it arrived and was bowed both in width and length when it was removed from sealed package. One glue joint was open about .020" on the end (one side only) and extends 1.4". The maximum bow measured diagonally was .155"
Products Comments section advised it would take time acclimate to new locale.
It has been air drying for 9 days and the warpage / bows have improved. End A now .055" and End B now .070" Glue joint still open. Side to side bowing is still visible under 1/8" thick metal straight edge over most of the board.

Would you call it good enough or contact Tower and let them decide or adjust.

Old 05-08-2008, 04:50 PM
carrellh

Default RE: How flat for a building board?

I pulled mine out of the closet several weeks ago. It had some bow when I put my straight edgedown the length, and more when I put it across. I supported the edges with 1/4 inch square sticks, with the high side up, and put weights on it to flatten it out. I left it for a few days, removed the weights, and checked again. It took between 2 and 3 weeks but it is now pretty flat. I can see a little light under the straight edge but I am calling it "good enough."

You might try something similar. You will have to bow it past flat so it will be flat when you release the pressure.
Old 05-08-2008, 04:58 PM
mikenlapaz