Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > Kit Building
Reload this Page >

Unionville Beaver 8' Kit tips

Notices
Kit Building If you're building a kit and have questions or want to discuss kit building post it here.

Unionville Beaver 8' Kit tips

Old 01-08-2009, 12:58 AM
zbmw25

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Unionville Beaver 8' Kit tips

Hello all,

I am pretty new to the kit building scene but have my eyes set on the Unionville 8' Beaver radial kit. My brother and I have been working on a SIG Extra .40 kit and have been progressing fairly well. I have read on here that the Unionville Beaver kit is a little more challenging (vague instructions and so on) but I was hoping to get some input from anyone who has built it before.

I have a few questions:

Is the kit die cut or laser cut?

Is the wing fully sheeted? Any foam involved, or is it all balsa?

Is the estimated weight of 9 ILBs fairly accurate?

Are there any major hangups in the build process that one should be aware of?

And is this thing as much fun to fly as it is to look at...

Also what was your covering choice, and any ideas for a cool color scheme?

Thanks for your help, post your pics if you have any.
Old 01-08-2009, 02:17 AM
Ram Jet

Default RE: Unionville Beaver 8' Kit tips

Color schemes abound. Do an internet search for DeHavilland Beaver. I have some I could download for you but it may be a bore.

Bill
Old 01-08-2009, 02:35 PM
yojoelay

zbmw25,

Have a look in the Seaplanes section of RCU. Do a search for 'Show us your Beaver' for some good pictures.