RCU Forums

RCU Forums (https://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/)
-   Kit Building (https://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/kit-building-121/)
-   -   SkyShark rc Kit for a first build? (https://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/kit-building-121/11620151-skyshark-rc-kit-first-build.html)

ZMiller 07-29-2015 08:06 AM

SkyShark rc Kit for a first build?

ok so this is my first post on the site, but i am no stranger i am always reading on here. I have been flying for about 2yrs total now i have a GP ugly stick with a OS 55ax and a 1st gen hangar 9 pts mustang that i had to rebuild. I would love to build my own plane from a kit, i have no building experience. I do have experience in wood working though, i have made a few beds and displaycases, i am also a active duty Marine that works on the AV8B Harrier and the F35, i know thats not much. So i have been looking at the Skyshark RC kits and really like the FW190 or the F6F Hellcat, my real question is will that be to advanced for me or are they pretty straight forward kits. Any input or recomendations would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks, Zach

aymodeler 07-29-2015 03:56 PM

I have built quite a few kits, but none from SkySHark yet (I do have Skyshark FW 190 kit waiting). From what I can tell, these kits are fairly advanced kits and probably not a good first build. I would suggest something from Sig or from Stevens Aero. Both of these companies make great kits with very clear instructions. Their kits are great flyers too.

c550 07-29-2015 06:05 PM

Ive built a few of the skyshark kits. They are very good kits however some of the features of the kit may frustrate a new builder. The scale features are well engineered but they add to the building time. I would build a Sig kit just for practice-but if you really want to and a ready for the extra time things like retracts and fitting a cowl arent too bad.

Semper Fi

R8893 07-30-2015 04:41 AM