RCU Forums

RCU Forums (https://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/)
-   Kit Building (https://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/kit-building-121/)
-   -   Phaeton 90 Build Thread (https://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/kit-building-121/9709478-phaeton-90-build-thread.html)

cwhipple 05-04-2010 09:06 AM

Phaeton 90 Build Thread

This is my first attempt at building a plane in a number of years so we will see how this thread and build turn out! Just purchased my Phaeton 90 online today from Balsa USA. I know the first question I have is how ailerons have been put in top wing in past. Any pics would be helpful. More to come as kit ships tomorrow.

Carlos G 05-04-2010 10:20 AM

RE: Phaeton 90 Build Thread

Hi Cwhipple,

I too have a Phaeton 90, in the box as it were. My stumbling block right now is I would like to go with a gasoline engine but havent decided upon which one. 23 to 26 cc might be enough if the airfarme is light enough. I would like to get away from glow fuel just to make life a bit simpler. We will see what happens.

Carlos G.

cwhipple 05-04-2010 10:32 AM

I may try a CRRC-Pro 26cc. You get them for under 200. I also have a two stroke ASP 1.20.

Edwin 05-04-2010 11:02 AM

I used rods to connect the upper and lower ailerons. Modified control horns work good for the rod connections. Someplace in the middle of the aileron. A 26cc should do really nice. I flew mine with a saito 120. I also have a rcgf 20cc which has the same power as my saito 120. A small gasser should help in balancing. I had to use a fair amount of led to balance with the saito. Fiberglass specialties sells two kinds of cowls for it. One has cheeks and the other doesnt.
Edwin

cwhipple 05-04-2010 11:07 AM

I requested pics of both style cowls from Fiberglass Specialties to see the difference.

cwhipple 05-04-2010 11:40 AM

Got the pictures. Definitely going with the version having cheeks! Probably wait to order in a week or so. Anyone have a CRRC-Pro 26cc sitting around?

cwhipple 05-04-2010 11:42 AM