RCU Forums

RCU Forums (https://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/)
-   Kit Manufacturer Direct Support Forum (https://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/kit-manufacturer-direct-support-forum-54/)
-   -   Are built up kits still relevant in today's world of ARTF kits🤔 (https://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/kit-manufacturer-direct-support-forum-54/11704039-built-up-kits-still-relevant-todays-world-artf-kits.html)

maddoguk 12-19-2022 05:03 AM

Are built up kits still relevant in today's world of ARTF kits🤔

A few years ago I was about to release my hammerhead kit but sadly due to ill health I had to put things on hold. Thankfully I am now fully recovered 😃 and was considering picking up from where I left off.
so my question as stated in the title of this thread. Are all built up kits still relevant today?

mgnostic 12-19-2022 10:41 AM

I would say yes but then I'm a long time hobbyist who still enjoys building. The number of people who build today is markedly smaller than it was in the 1980's when I started flying. At least among the people I fly with, most pilots just want to go fly. I think that back in the day a lot of people built because that was the only way they were going to get to fly, not because they enjoyed the build. That being said, I think that kits are still relevant. You just have to know your market. I'm not familiar with the Hammerhead. Who will it appeal to? Are you competing with a modeling genre that is already pretty saturated with ARFs? Are you looking to spool up for a full on boxed kit with lots of prefabbed parts or just short kits? One option is appealing to a niche market. Balsa USA seems to be doing well with this. Their WWI kits continue to be popular. Another option is cut on demand. If you are looking to monetize a laser cutter that you already have on hand, that might be a way to make kit manufacturing work. If this will be a hobby business or a sideline then go for it but don't bet the house on it. If you are looking to make a full time business of it then