Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Helicopters > LMH Helicopter
Reload this Page >

LMH116 fuel tank fell off?

Notices
LMH Helicopter Discussion of all LMH helicopters both electric and glow.

LMH116 fuel tank fell off?

Old 07-25-2004, 06:45 AM
kay

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default LMH116 fuel tank fell off?

Hi All,

I was flying my six years old LMH with the Vmax6 yesterday. All was normal until about 3 minutes into the flight when the engine quit abruptly. The helicopter fell from about 100 feet. The casualty....a cracked tail gear box and a bent boom.

I noticed that the fuel tank came off the nytie and the fuel line had slipped off the fuel tank. The white half of the fuel tank has a half inch crack. What I am not sure is whether the fuel line slipped off the fuel tank during flight causing the engine to quit or the fuel tank came off during the crash landing. I am not a beginner flyer anymore but have had my share of crashes during learning. I have had some spectacular crashes but the fuel tank was fine each time. I would like your experience on this.

Thanks and regards,

Kay
Old 07-25-2004, 12:22 PM
KLRico

Default RE: LMH116 fuel tank fell off?

For what its worth, I've had my fuel line slip off of the tank in flight too... I ended up cutting some lines into the part of the tank where the fuel line goes to add some grip to it. It worked pretty well so far.

BTW - welcome to RCU!
Old 07-25-2004, 03:27 PM
lyk2fly
My Feedback: (3)

I installed the 2 oz fuel tank from Dubro......clunk included. I haven't had any more tank problems. They are cheap....$2.00-$4.00 range. I have had several of the Lite Machine tanks to split.
Mark
Old 07-25-2004, 05:53 PM
flyinrog
My Feedback: (1)

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Ive heard of several tanks cracking on that seam too,,,,I will prolly go the dubro route myself if I ever get mine flying again....Rog
Old 07-25-2004, 07:56 PM
Joe K
My Feedback: (1)

I put a short piece of hose on the end of the hose that slips on the tank.