Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > Sport Flying
Reload this Page >

Interesting problem ...input invited

Notices
Sport Flying This forum is for those that like to fly just for the enjoyment of flying, and all the airplanes that help them. Discuss here the joys of flying and the airplanes that help you enjoy it.

Interesting problem ...input invited

Old 02-04-2013, 08:28 AM
flyinwalenda
My Feedback: (5)

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Interesting problem ...input invited

A control problem recently appeared in my old Sweetstik. I've been flying this for the past several years as my ski plane and never had an issue, old, tough, heavy , reliable plane.
I left it on 72mhz as I have only been flying it in the winter and never had an issue with it. At the field with some other planes on 72 before converting over I would get hit in a certain spot and the hit would be nothing more than a quick wobble and everything would be OK in a split second and it only happened on certain channels. There is a radio tower several miles away and a building about 1500' away with an alam system so I've always contributed one or the other as causing the hits.
Now I've flown it around 5 times this winter on 72 with no issues as normal and one day coming past this area all of a sudden the elevator goes full down and the plane is inverted going away from me at high rate of speed. It took me by surprise and I gave it full down , did an outside loop and got it heading back to me and again it went full down ! I got it back , cut throttle and landed it out in the lower forty...thank goodness there was 8" of snow on the ground!
I took out the 72 reciever and put in a 2.4 reciever on a different radio and checked all of the servos, wiring, etc...and all looked OK. Went out the next time now on 2.4 with a different radio and the same thing happened in the same spot! I got in back and flew in the rest of the way and landed it.