Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > ARF or RTF > NitroModels Support
Reload this Page >

CMP Yak 50 CG problem

Community
Search
Notices
NitroModels Support Click here to have all your questions answered directly from the NitroModels support team.

CMP Yak 50 CG problem

Search this Thread

Old 06-27-2007, 03:56 PM
Garret H
My Feedback: (15)

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default CMP Yak 50 CG problem

Hello:

I recently bought the CMP yak 50. Today I went to cg it -- it is balancing at over 6" back. It appears the company says to have it at 4.7". It will take ~5 oz. in the nose to balance. I have a .40 two stroke in it, but it weighs almost 6 lbs. Just wondering why mine came out so tail-heavy. Has anyone else had this problem??

P.S. I have the battery as far forward as it can go.

Garret
Old 06-27-2007, 05:40 PM
greyfoxx

Default RE: CMP Yak 50 CG problem

Garrett - I have had no experience with the 50 size CMP Yak, but expect to maiden their 140 size in the next few days. Both of these planes have a tendency to be tail-heavy (based upon experiences of other owners and their forums). Let me suggest that you consider what I have done so that you either do not have to add weight, or it is a small amount that must be added.

If you look at a full-scale Yak 55, you will notice that the spinner is some distance from the cowl. I understand this allows the prop to operated more efficiently on the full-scale (see photo).