Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > RC Gliders, Sailplanes and Slope Soaring
Reload this Page >

Altitude - How do you measure?

Community
Search
Notices
RC Gliders, Sailplanes and Slope Soaring Discuss rc gliders,rc sailplanes and slope soaring in this forum. Thermaling techniques, airfoils, tips, etc

Altitude - How do you measure?

Search this Thread

Old 04-23-2003, 01:31 PM
aeajr
My Feedback: (2)

Received 11 Likes on 11 Posts
Default Altitude - How do you measure?

I am new to this and thought it would be interesting to know how high I am flying.

Is there a device, or a method that will allow me to easily and cheaply determine altitude above the ground? I am not interested in expensive devices, I just want to get a good estimate of my altitude. Say +/- 10 %
Old 04-23-2003, 05:15 PM
BillHarris

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Casio, _et al_ make altimeter watches that have been used to record altitudes.

Another way is to compare relative size of the button on the tip of the TX antenna to the wingspan of your sailplane and guesstimate that altitude. The exact value depends on your "personal equation"; for me, when the button matches a 2M winspan, the plane is at 1000 feet altitude.

YMMV.
Old 04-23-2003, 09:51 PM
FLYBOY
My Feedback: (11)

Received 6 Likes on 5 Posts

How many forums did you put this exact post in?
Old 04-23-2003, 11:45 PM
aeajr

Similar post in two other forums to ask the question of different groups who might have different experience or approaches.
Old 04-23-2003, 11:56 PM
wildblueyawner

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Re devices, what Bill said - cheap & simple is an altimeter watch having max altitude memory feature.

The next step up would be a data logger:
http://www.lomcovak.cz/lolo/lolo.html
http://www.emsjomar.com/main-0.htm

A pricier, more elegant, solution is the Picolario variometer http://www.picolario.com which provides, in addition to the aural vario output, real-time altitude and battery voltage via spoken announcements.