Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > RC Gliders, Sailplanes and Slope Soaring
Reload this Page >

Good electric setup for kit built Bird Of Time..info here!

Community
Search
Notices
RC Gliders, Sailplanes and Slope Soaring Discuss rc gliders,rc sailplanes and slope soaring in this forum. Thermaling techniques, airfoils, tips, etc

Good electric setup for kit built Bird Of Time..info here!

Search this Thread

Old 06-24-2008, 11:36 AM
foodstick

Received 13 Likes on 11 Posts
Default Good electric setup for kit built Bird Of Time..info here!

I have read alot of threads were others were searching for a decent setup, And I think I have found one,and all the info you need.

First of all I am no electric expert, but I have read alot of posts to come up with my setup, and I am VERY happy with it. It does not go vertical, but close enough for me, I can get it up to 300 feet in maybe ten seconds or so. I have never run my batteries out yet, and have been climbing to altitude at least 7-8 times,and I wouldn't be surprised if I could go 15 if I wanted to.

Below is the information needed to duplicate my setup, I will add that I am using two cheap 8c 1250 li-pos in a series..giving me 2500 ma at 11.1 volt (3cell). I cut two inches off the front of my glider and mounted the motor on the new firewall I made. Also on my motor I had to slide the outrunner motor shaft through so I could mount the folding prop on the side of the motor I wanted. Also I believe my all up weight is 46 oz. and I had to add a tiny amount of tail weight ( a penny).

here are the parts I used..
All purchased from hobbycity, except the folding prop blades.

TURNIGY_Plush_40amp_Speed_Controller #TR_P40A

Turnigy TR_35-36C_1100kv_Brushless_Outrunner #TR35-36C

Folding_Headless_Prop_Spinner_38mm_/_4.0mm_shaft #FHS38-4.0

The turnigy programming card is a steal at 7 bucks as well...located in the turnigy speed control area.

prop size 10-6 http://www.hobby-lobby.com/freuden.htm
Old 06-29-2008, 08:20 PM