Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > RC Combat
Reload this Page >

Combat Wing Tape

Community
Search
Notices
RC Combat Discuss rc combat planes, techniques and strategies here.

Combat Wing Tape

Search this Thread

Old 07-18-2008, 12:11 AM
Cashpoboy
My Feedback: (7)

Received 2 Likes on 1 Post
Default Combat Wing Tape

I am new to combat slope wings.

I recently purchased a 'Prairie Dog' which is like a Zagi or any other EPP slope combat wing.

What kind of tape do you use to cover the wings?

I understand that I will need strapping tape for strength. What brand and width do I need? Any cheap sources?

Also, I see that colored tapes are used to cover the final build? Same question. What kind, width, brand, thickness....etc?

Any low cost sources for these?

And finally I see that I will need tape for the hinges. Same questions with this too.

There are no building instructions with the kit. I spoke with Jack the kit manufacturer and he is working on an instruction sheet. It's not a problem as it appears very simple and there are online manuals for Zagis and other similar models that I can follow.

The tape issues are really what I need help with.

Thanks for any help.
Old 07-18-2008, 12:55 PM
Capn America
My Feedback: (3)

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Combat Wing Tape

Most people order colored packing tape from u-line or fastpack, search the names you will find them. I like to use some bidirectional tape for the hinges. Some make a full length tape hinge, I cut them into strips and make hindges that go over the wing and under the aileron in an x fasion like the older covering hindges. Takes a little flutter out of the system. then cover it all with packing tape.

Look up the avenger plans on the net, it is a simular construction method and will give you an idea how to work with what you have. I think air sharnell has the avenger on their site now.

Good luck
Old 07-18-2008, 02:52 PM
batchelc

Capn,

Thanks for the tip!