Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > ARF or RTF > NitroModels Support
Reload this Page >

Wild Hawk good choice?

Community
Search
Notices
NitroModels Support Click here to have all your questions answered directly from the NitroModels support team.

Wild Hawk good choice?

Search this Thread

Old 03-13-2010, 06:21 PM
drhlau

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Wild Hawk good choice?

Total Newbie to RC aircraft. Have been researching and I will probably go with the Wild Hawk. There are tons of "beginner" trainers on the market. Just wanted to get some veteran flier's opinions on the Wild Hawk before I take the plunge.

Not a newbie to flying though, I'm a military aviator doing my Staff Tour (get to fly a desk for a couple of years). Know about bad habits such as too steep climb outs, not lining up your approach properly, etc. Did have the common sense and buy the ESKY simulator first...flying a RC aircraft is not as easy as it looks. I have probably crashed over $3000 worth of airplanes in the last couple of weeks. Lucky the reset key is not my credit card.
Old 03-13-2010, 09:02 PM
Gale155

Default RE: Wild Hawk good choice?

I'm experienced with full-sized planes as well, and a noob to rc. I would suggest the EZ Hawk if you're going to get a 3-channel, if for nothing else other than the transmitter. Take a look at the throttle control on the one supplied with the Wild Hawk...it's an unconventional design, and therefore probably not a good thing to learn with, or get used to if you think you're going to stick with the hobby. I bought the Hawk Sky as a trainer, and I'm totally impressed with everything but the decals. The EZ Hawk is the same plane, minus the rudder servo and associated hardware.
Old 03-15-2010, 11:11 AM
opjose

I agree.

Also the EZ Hawk has full ailerons, so what you learn translates better to other aircraft.

It's taken over the top spot in my recommendations for "go it alone, beginner's planes".

Old 03-15-2010, 04:24 PM
drhlau