Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > RC Jets > Turbine Clinic > Merlin Turbine Clinic
Reload this Page >

Any RPM/power wire issues on later Ver 10 ECU

Notices
Merlin Turbine Clinic Support for Merlin Turbines is provided in this forum

Any RPM/power wire issues on later Ver 10 ECU

Old 01-17-2012, 08:52 AM
  #1  
Xairflyer
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (1)
 
Xairflyer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Co. Donegal, IRELAND
Posts: 2,760
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Any RPM/power wire issues on later Ver 10 ECU

Just wondering does the later ver 10 ECU suffer from the same problems as old models in regard to the need to keep the rpm wires away from the glow/power wires.

I am not sure how the internal kero start system works and whether it uses the same PWM signal from the ECU that caused the 64000 to be displayed on the HDT when the rpm wires picked it up.

I am just routing the cables on a Merlin 140 install and would be a lot neater if I can run them all down the same side but don't want the hassle of the problems caused by this in the past.
I am hoping and assuming this old problem is no longer an issue in later Fadec ECU's.
Old 01-20-2012, 12:12 AM
  #2  
Gaspar
 
Gaspar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Arenys de Munt- BARCELONA, SPAIN
Posts: 425
Likes: 0
Received 5 Likes on 3 Posts
Default RE: Any RPM/power wire issues on later Ver 10 ECU

Seamus,

We never had any issues by routing the RPM and TC leads parallel to the power leads.

The only part that could be sensitive is the magnetic RPM sensor located inside the engine cover.

Some homebuilders had/have issues with sporadic rpm reading caused by the magnetic fields due at inadequate installation. Basically weak magnets, wrong placement of the RPM sensor, bad routing of the power and ground wires and connections, but this is not the case on engines manufactured by JetsMunt, same as it is not the case with other manufacturer engines that use same ecu.

The magnetic RPM sensor on the 140 is located in the opposite side of the fuel input (180ΒΊ). So, if you want a extra peace of mind, avoid the power wires to be routed over the cover of the engine in this place.

For any other doubt, don't hesitate to contact me directly to jets-munt email (info(at)jets-munt.com), answer will be faster because I don't monitor this forum regularly.

BRG,

Gaspar
Old 01-20-2012, 04:08 AM
  #3  
Xairflyer
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (1)
 
Xairflyer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Co. Donegal, IRELAND
Posts: 2,760
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Any RPM/power wire issues on later Ver 10 ECU

Thanks Gasper, I have routed the wires as you say.

On the wren we had to twist the glow plug wires, but I do remember now that the problem seem to be caused most of the time by a bad connection, when the glow plug negative lead was just connected to the case, problem was solved when fitted under the glow plug itself.

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright © 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.