Notices
Merlin Turbine Clinic Support for Merlin Turbines is provided in this forum

Merlin 140

Old 08-21-2013, 10:51 AM
  #1  
jimmers123
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: somerset, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 26
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Merlin 140

Hi what is the best way to shut down the 140, & how do I go to auto cooling ? I take the turbine up to aprox 40k rpm & then close the trim which shuts the turbine down, this starts the auto cooling, if I leave the trim down the cooling is eratic and prolonged, then if I move the trim up the auto cooling stops, what am I doing wrong ?
Old 08-21-2013, 11:38 AM
  #2  
Sparhawk
 
Sparhawk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Truro, NS, CANADA
Posts: 602
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default

I'm pretty sure that the auto cooling is temp dependant. Meaning it is engaging and disengaging the starter until the temp falls below 100C. Trims must remain down. Manual cooling is also described in the manual?

Dan
Old 08-22-2013, 12:11 AM
  #3  
Gaspar
 
Gaspar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Arenys de Munt- BARCELONA, SPAIN
Posts: 425
Likes: 0
Received 5 Likes on 3 Posts
Default

What mean "the cooling is eratic and prolonged"?


Surely what it happening is that your radio is not correctly programmed and the ecu enter in "failsafe" when the trim and stick are at low. Are you using digital trim?


Gaspar
Old 08-26-2013, 11:40 PM
  #4  
Cliffhanger
Member
 
Cliffhanger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Gangelt, GERMANY
Posts: 72
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

In normal conditions, the ECU cools the turbine down untill it is below 100 C.
Sometimes, the rest heat inside the engine can cause the thermocouple to detect a temperature, which gets back to +100 C.
In that case, the engine cools down some more.T
here is nothing wrong with that. and yes, it might seem a little eratic

If you move your trim back up again, the ECU shhould be back in a "ready" state.
that is, if you have programmed your ECU correctly.

You can manually override the cooling sequence by setting your trim low and your throttle stick full power.

I hope this helps.

Clifford

Last edited by Cliffhanger; 08-26-2013 at 11:42 PM.

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright © 2022 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.