Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > RC Jets > Turbine Clinic > Merlin Turbine Clinic
Reload this Page >

Merlin 140XBL starting issue

Notices
Merlin Turbine Clinic Support for Merlin Turbines is provided in this forum

Merlin 140XBL starting issue

Old 06-01-2018, 07:10 PM
  #1  
Robd
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Kamloops, BC, CANADA
Posts: 40
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Merlin 140XBL starting issue

Just throwing this out while we are waiting on a couple of call backs.
I have a JetsMunt Merlin 140 XBL with the JetsMunt version of the Xicoy ECU. This is the one with the 3 wire interface to the turbine.
During the start sequence the temperature reading drops from ambient to 0 as soon as the throttle stick is dropped to begin the sequence. The burner lights and fuel flows but the temp stays at 0. As a result, the start fails sometimes with a flooded engine.
I have a brand new 2S 4000 mAh 50C ECU LiPo battery and I am told the igniter voltage was raised 0.2V from standard.
Everyone I have spoken to tells me the temperature indication should start to rise from ambient as soon as the fuel ignites.
It is acting to me like a buggy version of the ECU software.
Anyone else experience this and if so how did you resolve?
Thanks
-Rob-
Old 06-01-2018, 07:16 PM
  #2  
ira d
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Maricopa County AZ
Posts: 3,235
Received 5 Likes on 5 Posts
Default

Sounds like a defective temp probe to me or a defective connection of the temp probe to ECU. Other than than that Defective ECU could be the cause.
Old 06-02-2018, 09:22 AM
  #3  
scoeroo
My Feedback: (9)
 
scoeroo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Home PA
Posts: 668
Likes: 0
Received 12 Likes on 11 Posts
Default

I suggest turning on the system to pre start mode and read the TC ambient temp on the data terminal , then with a heat gun hit the thermocouple at the exhaust , if the temp rises the TC is good

Next run the stick up & down to go into start-up sequence , if the data terminal goes strait to zero instantly you can then take it that the ecu is having issues

Another check is to see if there is a high resistance crimp on the 3 wire connection cable that leads from the ecu to the turbine
Old 06-12-2018, 01:59 PM
  #4  
FenderBean
 
FenderBean's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Huntsville AL
Posts: 7,033
Likes: 0
Received 54 Likes on 39 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by ira d View Post
Sounds like a defective temp probe to me or a defective connection of the temp probe to ECU. Other than than that Defective ECU could be the cause.
I had this on one of my turbines it was the temp prob
Old 06-13-2018, 04:47 PM
  #5  
Robd
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Kamloops, BC, CANADA
Posts: 40
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Just to close out this thread, I did hear back from Gaspar and he feels the problem is with the thermocouple. Albeit not that it is broken but rather the insulation / installation has been compromised. It does require changing out so the engine is off to be repaired.

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright © 2022 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.