Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > RC Jets > Turbine Clinic > Merlin Turbine Clinic
Reload this Page >

FADEC PC Connection question

Notices
Merlin Turbine Clinic Support for Merlin Turbines is provided in this forum

FADEC PC Connection question

Old 12-22-2005, 12:40 PM
  #1  
Fortune7
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Oxford, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 118
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default FADEC PC Connection question

Hi Todd,

First, thanks for the prompt turnaround of the fuel pump - great service!

Is it possible to see logs and settings on the FADEC by connecting it to a PC with NOTHING else connected except the PC / USB lead? I installed the FADEC software and get a 'Fadec not Connected' caption. I'm wondering if it has to be powered from the Receiver battery or whether the USB port provides juice. In case you need it, I'm running Windows XP Pro. Rest assured I don't intend to change any factory settings but was interested to get it connected for future information and to see if the FADEC was used for the factory engine test.

Cheers

Andy
Old 12-22-2005, 12:58 PM
  #2  
lov2flyrc
My Feedback: (24)
 
lov2flyrc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Daytona Beach
Posts: 6,102
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: FADEC PC Connection question

Hi Andy,
You do need to have the Fadec powered up for the data connection to function. It does not receive power from the USB port. Plugging it into a rx with the the battery connected is the easiest way to accomplish this task.
Regards,
Todd
Old 12-22-2005, 01:12 PM
  #3  
seanreit
My Feedback: (60)
 
seanreit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Cedar Park, TX
Posts: 7,431
Likes: 0
Received 5 Likes on 2 Posts
Default RE: FADEC PC Connection question

Andy, what was your indication that you needed a fuel pump?
Old 12-22-2005, 03:18 PM
  #4  
lov2flyrc
My Feedback: (24)
 
lov2flyrc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Daytona Beach
Posts: 6,102
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: FADEC PC Connection question

Sean,
He was sent the wrong pump for the MK2... He did not have a defective unit.
Old 12-22-2005, 05:22 PM
  #5  
seanreit
My Feedback: (60)
 
seanreit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Cedar Park, TX
Posts: 7,431
Likes: 0
Received 5 Likes on 2 Posts
Default RE: FADEC PC Connection question

Todd, how did he know he had the wrong pump, what's different? voltage? Engine not running? Blew it up? What was the indication. Not many people can look at a pump and say "it's the wrong one". I'm just asking what the indication was.

Or maybe you just called him and told him, just curious.

Thanks,
Old 12-22-2005, 05:32 PM
  #6  
lov2flyrc
My Feedback: (24)
 
lov2flyrc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Daytona Beach
Posts: 6,102
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: FADEC PC Connection question

Sean,
The new Fadec uses different connections. His pump was missing the proper connectors to mate to the ECU. It is the identical pump, just modified wiring.
Todd

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright © 2022 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.