Community
Search
Notices
MRC Charger Product Support (i.e. Super Brain, etc) Tim Sandor of MRC/Hirobo is your host. Ask all your MRC questions here!

MRC 989 questions

Search this Thread

Old 10-08-2007, 07:58 PM
sos95714

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default MRC 989 questions

Hi Tim, I’ve been using an MRC 989 for a few months now and have a few questions I would appreciate you helping me out with. First off, when Auto Cycling 110 mah nicd batteries, during the discharge stop phase the charger is actually charging the batteries at a 0.10 mah rate (aprox 1C) when it should be cooling the batteries down. I’m not sure this is good for the batteries and am wondering if this is normal or if this would be a Warranty issue.

Also, when slow charging new 4200 mah batteries on 1/10 C, after the timer maxxes out at 199 minutes and restarts, it gets stuck and cycles from 00:00 to 00:59 continually so I don’t know how long the batteries take to charge. This isn’t a big deal, and doesn’t seem to effect the charging, but at the same time seems seams kind of weird.

One other thing, Is there somewhere I can find out what the Stop Codes are and what to adjust to get the batteries to stop at the proper code. Right now the batteries are stopping at mostly C 2, and I get C 0’s whenever I top off batteries, and I think I’ve seen a few C 2’s. The problem is that I haven’t a clue what these codes mean (except I seem to remember C 0 being the normal stop code) or what to adjust when I get them. It would be helpful if you would provide a brief description of the stop codes for all us 989 users along with possible adjustments that would allow for a proper charge.

Thanks, Steve

PS. I posted a similar message in another thread but thought it would be more appropriate to ask a fresh question.
Old 10-09-2007, 08:16 AM
Tim@MRC

Default RE: MRC 989 questions