Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > ARF or RTF > NitroModels Support
Reload this Page >

F22 Raptor questions

Community
Search
Notices
NitroModels Support Click here to have all your questions answered directly from the NitroModels support team.

F22 Raptor questions

Search this Thread

Old 11-19-2008, 07:51 PM
mandtra
My Feedback: (29)

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default F22 Raptor questions

I know the CG is pretty much set, but can someone that has flown this plane with ok results tell me where there CG is at?? I have tried to fly this plane three times and it is out of controll every time.LOL I'm a good pilot and i would think the CG is way off if it was a glow plane. I mean it seems to have a mind of it's own,
Old 11-20-2008, 11:13 AM
mandtra

Default RE: F22 Raptor questions

anyone???
Old 11-20-2008, 01:00 PM
opjose

I don't have this plane but I have a question...

Did it nose up in flight and you had to add a lot of down trim just to try to control it?

Did it seem to be all over the place?

I have the F-35 and the first time I flew it at the recommended C.G. it was a horror show... though I did get it under control to land it...

Not because there was anything inherently wrong with the plane, but rather because of several things that needed adjusting at once...

Namely:

- These planes are fairly pitch sensitive due to the large tail surface
- There is no Expo in the included radio
- The C.G. should be further forward for initial flights ( though it flew fine at the stated C.G. once other things were fixed ).
- It is easy to get slop with the plastic clevisis...
- Elevator neutral point is not defined in the manual
- The power of the motor introduces a fair amount of roll. ( at least on the F-35, dunno about yours though... )

Solution

- The "high rate" ( yes the TX has dual rates ) should be set to move the elevator less than 10mm
- The plane should be flown with the switch set to low rates until you are comfortable.