Notices
O.S. Engines Support Ask Bill Baxter your questions about O.S. Engines.

OS 300 Twin

Old 04-30-2007, 07:15 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default OS 300 Twin

Question for Bax.

I have been operating an OS 300 Gemini for the last two years. This weekend I flew it in my Christen Eagle for the first time this year. I experienced an overheating problem on the left cyl. Engine quit in flight. After examination, the left cylinder was lacking compression. I disasembled the cylinder head and found a Gaulded Piston. I am sending the engine back to OS for repairs but what really concerns me is why the left cylinder overheated. The right side appeared normal. I know I did not overlean this engine but I suspect that I had a stuck piston ring from sitting up all winter.
Any chance I'm right? Or please offer your opinion. I don't mind the repairs as this has been an excellent powerplant and the second best engine I have. It is second only to the OS sirrius radial :^).
Thanks for your help
Glenn Sheppard
Old 05-01-2007, 01:52 PM
Bax
My Feedback: (11)

Received 6 Likes on 5 Posts
Default RE: OS 300 Twin

One cylinder in any multi-cylinder engine will tend to run leaner than the others. One will always be the richest. It's likely your engine was a bit over-lean on one cylinder.
Old 06-08-2007, 05:46 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: OS 300 Twin

Bax,