Notices
Off Topic Forum - Cars, Trucks, Buggies and more Get to know your fellow RCU member modelers in here and discuss off topic non-rc stuff. Only two topics OFF LIMITS are religion and politics. This forum for car & truck members. Plane & Heli members have their own in clubhouse section.

Anyone getting snow good for rc?

Old 01-16-2013, 02:18 PM
  #1  
collector1231
Moderator
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (1)
 
collector1231's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: A place in a place.
Posts: 4,192
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Anyone getting snow good for rc?

Hopefully, I will tomorrow. It will make an ideal day for my Lunchbox to see the white stuff in person. And they will get personal. Very personal.
Old 01-16-2013, 02:40 PM
  #2  
DarkFire989
Senior Member
 
DarkFire989's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Northborough, MA
Posts: 6,626
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Anyone getting snow good for rc?

FG and Baja are not snow friendly really. Surface has to be hard packed but still breakable enough to dig in to get traction.
Old 01-16-2013, 02:56 PM
  #3  
collector1231
Moderator
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (1)
 
collector1231's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: A place in a place.
Posts: 4,192
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Anyone getting snow good for rc?

UPDATE; Woo, 3 inches are heading for me! Most snow in a LONG time.

And Dark, I agree. Hopefully, my LB can handle it. Along with my Slash, and Mini E Revo. Tomorrows gonna be fun.
Old 01-16-2013, 04:11 PM
  #4  
Argess
 
Argess's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Pleasantville, NS, CANADA
Posts: 2,355
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Anyone getting snow good for rc?

Started at noon today. Fine powder. 2 inches down so far. BUT, it's covering up old hard packed snow. Should be perfect in a day or two (fresh snow is a little to fluffy).
Old 01-16-2013, 04:38 PM
  #5  
DarkFire989
Senior Member
 
DarkFire989's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Northborough, MA
Posts: 6,626
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Anyone getting snow good for rc?

Got about 5 inches of snow. Not like I can run my trucks on the street though until my arm gets better.
Old 01-16-2013, 05:05 PM
  #6  
FahrtAutoRC
Senior Member
 
FahrtAutoRC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Akron, OH
Posts: 2,604
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Anyone getting snow good for rc?

The idea of running in snow makes me cringe, but that's just me. I will say I'm kinda mad at this weather lately. Only one good snow storm last month, and it's all melted by now. We used to get INSANE winter weather, now it's all just warm and wet. And I'm angry. Rate it's going, I'm going to have to move to get the 30* and foot of snow I long for
Old 01-17-2013, 01:33 AM
  #7  
Haddi Taha
Senior Member
 
Haddi Taha's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Sydney, AUSTRALIA
Posts: 1,901
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Anyone getting snow good for rc?


ORIGINAL: FahrtAutoRC

The idea of running in snow makes me cringe, but that's just me. I will say I'm kinda mad at this weather lately. Only one good snow storm last month, and it's all melted by now. We used to get INSANE winter weather, now it's all just warm and wet. And I'm angry. Rate it's going, I'm going to have to move to get the 30* and foot of snow I long for
It never snows in Australia, you can't miss what you never had

Old 01-17-2013, 05:37 AM
  #8  
The Hedgehog
 
The Hedgehog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: , CT
Posts: 9,999
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Anyone getting snow good for rc?

I generally run my 1/5th, my Tamiya DF03RA, and my slash 4X4 in the snow, that's what I am doing this weekend, trying to get some cool pics of the rally!
Old 01-17-2013, 11:35 AM
  #9  
collector1231
Moderator
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (1)
 
collector1231's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: A place in a place.
Posts: 4,192
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Anyone getting snow good for rc?

Another update! Its been steadily snowing for an hour now and will keep snowing for the next 4! Its some pretty heavy stuff. The ground temp (according to my TrakPower temp pod) is 29.5 degrees. Let it snow!
Old 01-17-2013, 12:42 PM
  #10  
Lunchboxer
 
Lunchboxer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Longmeadow, MA
Posts: 56,174
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Anyone getting snow good for rc?

Snow?! There's only 1 RC for that...

Old 01-17-2013, 01:30 PM
  #11  
DarkFire989
Senior Member
 
DarkFire989's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Northborough, MA
Posts: 6,626
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Anyone getting snow good for rc?

I'd love a blizzard.
Old 01-17-2013, 01:51 PM
  #12  
collector1231
Moderator
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (1)
 
collector1231's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: A place in a place.
Posts: 4,192
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Anyone getting snow good for rc?

Eh... a Kyosho Blizzard, DQ Blizzard, or snow blizzard? LOL.

The snow was more like slush, but i still had fun. I fell flat on my rear about 5 times....... Heres a RC family pic;
Old 01-17-2013, 02:03 PM
  #13  
Argess
 
Argess's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Pleasantville, NS, CANADA
Posts: 2,355
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Anyone getting snow good for rc?

Darn... just finished clearing the 4" of snow from last night, and another 4" expected tonight. No go until it packs up a bit.

And I hear rumours of another 12 inches of snow in a few days.

RC might take a back seat with the focus on keeping my old snowblower running.

***

I never had a Blizzard, or any other tracked vehicle, but I did run my old airboat on hard-packed snow once. Touchy to get moving, but once off, it was quite speedy.

Old 01-17-2013, 06:54 PM
  #14  
SyCo_VeNoM
 
SyCo_VeNoM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: North West Indiana
Posts: 12,789
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Anyone getting snow good for rc?

I've gotten 0 snow where I live
pisses me off as I have 2 RC's purpose built for the stuff.
Actually after completing the one last year it didn't snow enough since to use it(and the snow we had the day it was too windy to use it properly)...
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	Us53962.jpg
Views:	20
Size:	101.8 KB
ID:	1841595  
Old 01-20-2013, 02:44 PM
  #15  
DieHarder
 
DieHarder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Grand Haven, MI
Posts: 2,984
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Anyone getting snow good for rc?

I thought about doing that to my Evader since 2wd doesn't do well in the snow, but I thought about how when if it hits something, it's gonna stop immediatly. Does that happen with yours?
ORIGINAL: SyCo_VeNoM

I've gotten 0 snow where I live
pisses me off as I have 2 RC's purpose built for the stuff.
Actually after completing the one last year it didn't snow enough since to use it(and the snow we had the day it was too windy to use it properly)...
Old 01-20-2013, 05:18 PM
  #16  
FahrtAutoRC
Senior Member
 
FahrtAutoRC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Akron, OH
Posts: 2,604
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Anyone getting snow good for rc?

Good lookin body in the back there! I've thought of doing an Ivan Stewart tribute truck before, never got motivated enough to though!

ORIGINAL: collector1231

Eh... a Kyosho Blizzard, DQ Blizzard, or snow blizzard? LOL.
The snow was more like slush, but i still had fun. I fell flat on my rear about 5 times....... Heres a RC family pic;
Old 01-21-2013, 02:50 PM
  #17  
collector1231
Moderator
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (1)
 
collector1231's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: A place in a place.
Posts: 4,192
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Anyone getting snow good for rc?


ORIGINAL: FahrtAutoRC

Good lookin body in the back there! I've thought of doing an Ivan Stewart tribute truck before, never got motivated enough to though!

ORIGINAL: collector1231

Eh... a Kyosho Blizzard, DQ Blizzard, or snow blizzard? LOL.
The snow was more like slush, but i still had fun. I fell flat on my rear about 5 times....... Heres a RC family pic;
Thanks! It only took me a day or so. Not too long. I need to make another for the grey and black one in the middle.
Old 01-21-2013, 08:03 PM
  #18  
SyCo_VeNoM
 
SyCo_VeNoM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: North West Indiana
Posts: 12,789
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Anyone getting snow good for rc?

ORIGINAL: DieHard1207

I thought about doing that to my Evader since 2wd doesn't do well in the snow, but I thought about how when if it hits something, it's gonna stop immediatly. Does that happen with yours?
ORIGINAL: SyCo_VeNoM

I've gotten 0 snow where I live
pisses me off as I have 2 RC's purpose built for the stuff.
Actually after completing the one last year it didn't snow enough since to use it(and the snow we had the day it was too windy to use it properly)...
well the run I did(only time we had snow after it was made, but not finalized... ) it hit cement and skid across it quite easily. I did put like 8-12 coats of wax on the bottom though. I also plan on making new ski's eventually out of lexan that are shaped better, but I've been blowing it off for a long time.

other RC I did for snow.
The setup worked quite well, and it didn't get stuck once(the snow it was ran in was about 2 inches deep, and somewhat sticky). Where prior it would get stuck occasionally as 4wd

I also own an HengLong RC tank that I've used in snow and it worked pretty decent I call the tank the poor mans blizzard, ut hey it fires BB's so I guess that inda makes up for it

The 3rd pic is a creation I did out of tank parts, but ran into major issues that I couldn't work around, and ended up scrapping it entirely(namely the track alignment gears were breaking on the bottom, and the screws bending)
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	Fd91451.jpg
Views:	16
Size:	81.7 KB
ID:	1843065   Click image for larger version

Name:	Ca81375.jpg
Views:	17
Size:	65.0 KB
ID:	1843066   Click image for larger version

Name:	Up47407.jpg
Views:	14
Size:	138.6 KB
ID:	1843067  
Old 01-22-2013, 07:53 AM
  #19  
DieHarder
 
DieHarder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Grand Haven, MI
Posts: 2,984
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Anyone getting snow good for rc?

That 6x6 is sweet! What did the the original chassis and the extra half-chassis come off of?
Old 01-22-2013, 08:11 AM
  #20  
cumminspower5.9
Senior Member
My Feedback: (4)
 
cumminspower5.9's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: horseheads, NY
Posts: 2,643
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Anyone getting snow good for rc?

Got some lake effect snow, maybe got an inch. Would be perfect for driving the XS in it, but it is out of commission at the moment
Old 01-22-2013, 02:23 PM
  #21  
DieHarder
 
DieHarder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Grand Haven, MI
Posts: 2,984
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Anyone getting snow good for rc?

Got 6" of here, yo!
Old 01-22-2013, 08:21 PM
  #22  
SyCo_VeNoM
 
SyCo_VeNoM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: North West Indiana
Posts: 12,789
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Anyone getting snow good for rc?

ORIGINAL: DieHard1207

That 6x6 is sweet! What did the the original chassis and the extra half-chassis come off of?
its pretty much a stock wheely king. The extension I made with a piece of scrap T-6 aluminum I had laying around from a chassis pan, and shock tower braces I did for other RC's. I took off the wheely bar, and traced the mount holes onto a piece of cardboard, then I copied the links mount, figured out approximately how long it would be (honestly I eyeballed it, and was right on the money ) for the shock mount made it out of cardboard everything lined up nice, so I went and cut it out of aluminum. Only modification I actually made to the chassis was I had to grind down a little piece of the faux tube frame so the plates would sit flush, but honestly if I slapped the stock wheely bar back on it wouldn't be noticeable.

the center axle I took a WK axle, and bought another axle parts set and dremeled the lip flat, put in an another bevel gear, and bolted the 2 halves together.

In all honesty I think I spent an hour tops doing all that including designing the extension piece.

Only issue with the way I did it is that if the rear compresses all the way the center drive shaft will come out
I've thought of a few fixes, but they were put on the back burner as the rear does not fully compress when actually running its more an issue of coming out when stored.
Old 01-23-2013, 04:09 AM
  #23  
FahrtAutoRC
Senior Member
 
FahrtAutoRC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Akron, OH
Posts: 2,604
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Anyone getting snow good for rc?

Sheesh. 4* F and not one flake of snow here.I'm a freakin polar bear when it comes to the cold, but cold with no snow is just no fun!!!



This is what RCU has come down to. A bunch of angsty cabin-fevered hobbyists talking about the weather haha
Old 01-23-2013, 06:30 AM
  #24  
cumminspower5.9
Senior Member
My Feedback: (4)
 
cumminspower5.9's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: horseheads, NY
Posts: 2,643
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Anyone getting snow good for rc?


ORIGINAL: FahrtAutoRC

Sheesh. 4* F and not one flake of snow here.I'm a freakin polar bear when it comes to the cold, but cold with no snow is just no fun!!!



This is what RCU has come down to. A bunch of angsty cabin-fevered hobbyists talking about the weather haha
We have about 2" now on the ground, but it's -12*F with the wind, so it's definitely too cold to even go outside.
Old 01-23-2013, 09:09 AM
  #25  
DieHarder
 
DieHarder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Grand Haven, MI
Posts: 2,984
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Anyone getting snow good for rc?

Hit 8"! Lake effect snow, yo!

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information

Copyright 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.