Notices
Off Topic Forum - Cars, Trucks, Buggies and more Get to know your fellow RCU member modelers in here and discuss off topic non-rc stuff. Only two topics OFF LIMITS are religion and politics. This forum for car & truck members. Plane & Heli members have their own in clubhouse section.

Post Your Desktop

Old 11-30-2005, 11:24 PM
  #26  
Senior Member
My Feedback: (39)
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Orland Park, IL
Posts: 1,725
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Post Your Desktop

Hey yea now I remeber. LOL Thanks. I should know how to do this.
Old 12-01-2005, 12:03 AM
  #27  
Senior Member
 
2DMaxLST!!'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: San Antonio, TX
Posts: 4,867
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Post Your Desktop

Dual 20.1 LCD's

Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	Bz79319.jpg
Views:	12
Size:	30.6 KB
ID:	362852   Click image for larger version

Name:	Sp45493.jpg
Views:	17
Size:	27.0 KB
ID:	362853  
Old 12-01-2005, 09:48 AM
  #28  
 
gerwen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: St. Thomas, ON, CANADA
Posts: 2,088
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Post Your Desktop

ORIGINAL: jakjr

Easiest way to do it would be to change the files extension from .bpm to .jpg or .jpeg. Windows should automatically convert it to the other file type. You need to have windows setup to show file extensions to do this.
This isn't true. The file is still a .bmp bitmap with an incorrect .jpg extension. Some programs like paint and picture viewer will recognize it for what it actually is and still open and display it. Other programs will like Irfanview which i use, will tell you the problem and ask if you want to rename it back to what it really is.

For all your picture displaying, converting and optimizing needs, Irfanview fits the bill. It's small and fast, and works really well.
http://www.irfanview.com/

It has a batch mode too, so if you want to convert hundreds of pics from .bmp to .jpg, or from 1280*1024 to 800*600, it'll do it for you. I've been using it for years.

Oh ya, it's completely free as well.
Old 12-01-2005, 10:09 AM
  #29  
Senior Member
My Feedback: (18)
 
jakjr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: victoria, TX
Posts: 5,072
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Post Your Desktop

This isn't true. The file is still a .bmp bitmap with an incorrect .jpg extension. Some programs like paint and picture viewer will recognize it for what it actually is and still open and display it. Other programs will like Irfanview which i use, will tell you the problem and ask if you want to rename it back to what it really is.
I was unaware of that, I always just assumed windows actually converted it.

In any case, it will work for what he is wanting to do (upload the file here), this image here was a bmp that I changed the extension to so I could upload it.

Attached Images
File Type: jpg
Vt56537.jpg (49.9 KB, 5 views)
Old 12-01-2005, 10:15 AM
  #30  
 
gerwen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: St. Thomas, ON, CANADA
Posts: 2,088
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Post Your Desktop

Interesting... RCU does the conversion.

You can tell if the file is still a bmp or a jpg by looking at the file size. A .bmp is uncompressed, so it will be very large compared to the same pic in .jpg format. A .jpg of a screenshot can be 1-2Megabytes or more, while a .jpg will generally be less than 200k, depending on the quality setting.


***edited to resize the giant screenshot of my browser window that i uploaded as a .bmp renamed to .jpg
apparently it doesn't thumbnail a .bmp disguised as a .jpg, so instead of a thumbnail I got a full size pic of this thread... very confusing until i resized it.

***edit again, the file is still a .bmp, when i right click it and save as, it saves it still has a .jpg extension, but is still .bmp format. Irfanview recognizes it as such and changes the name to correct it. Neato
Attached Images
File Type: jpg
Jh16306.jpg (225.1 KB, 15 views)
Old 12-01-2005, 08:27 PM
  #31  
Senior Member
 
Doahh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Loomis, CA
Posts: 4,290
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Post Your Desktop

and you can tell it's a bmp because it loads bottom up
Old 12-01-2005, 09:02 PM
  #32  
Senior Member
My Feedback: (39)
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Orland Park, IL
Posts: 1,725
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Post Your Desktop

TOO.................MUCH.......................... INFO.............................AHHHHHHHH
Old 12-01-2005, 09:15 PM
  #33  
Senior Member
 
houseplant's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Lanoka Harbor, NJ
Posts: 256
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Post Your Desktop

Yes I have also got confused while attemping to read this thread.
Old 12-01-2005, 10:43 PM
  #34  
Senior Member
 
Wide Open's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Mesa, AZ
Posts: 3,127
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Post Your Desktop

my head hurts too. owwwwwww.[:@][sm=bananahead.gif]
Old 12-02-2005, 07:14 AM
  #35  
 
gerwen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: St. Thomas, ON, CANADA
Posts: 2,088
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Post Your Desktop

What can i say? I'm a computer professional, this is my bread and butter.
Old 12-02-2005, 10:47 AM
  #36  
Senior Member
 
Doahh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Loomis, CA
Posts: 4,290
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Post Your Desktop

I guess I could call myself a computer nerd because I put together and set up half the comps for my family

Viper TNB and Jakjr:
Stop using internet exploder get Mozzilla Firefox... it is MUCH better (blocks those annoying popups) and tabbed browsing is great!
Old 12-02-2005, 11:53 AM
  #37  
Senior Member
 
Tigger N. Bennie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Track
Posts: 8,396
Likes: 0
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default RE: Post Your Desktop

I don't seem to get pop-ups and even the google task bar has a pop-up blocker.
Old 12-02-2005, 12:08 PM
  #38  
 
gerwen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: St. Thomas, ON, CANADA
Posts: 2,088
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Post Your Desktop

TNB, once you get a taste of tabbed browsing, you can't live without it. It's like it was invented for forum reading.

Good news for IE users though, Tabbed browsing is coming in IE 7, although from what i read, not quite as refined.

Take a look, in the first pic, i've gone into the 1/8th buggy forum and opened up some threads in tabs. The second pic is after i clicked on one of the threads. To open up threads, middle click the link, and they open up in the tabs you see at the top, as many as you want. Click on the tab for the thread, read it, then middle click the tab again to remove it, and the next tab (thread) comes forward. Read that, middle click the tab again, and so on, over and over. If someone posts a link or a pic, middle click it, and it opens up in a new tab at the end you can switch to- check out-switch back, or read later.

All your browsing in one window. Its so very convenient.

Multitasking online between RCU and a search for info on something else? Use another browser window to keep them separate. Honestly tabbed browsing is the best thing to come to browsers since the scroll wheel on the mouse.


Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	If10489.jpg
Views:	12
Size:	74.6 KB
ID:	363610   Click image for larger version

Name:	Fa84781.jpg
Views:	10
Size:	63.1 KB
ID:	363611  
Old 12-02-2005, 02:21 PM
  #39  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Vancouver, BC, CANADA
Posts: 397
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Post Your Desktop

Yes, NOTHING beats tabbed browsing... I have 10 open right now.... GO FIREFOX!

Also, NOTHING beats Linux/Unix

I'm using it right now... trying to de-brick my Linksys router (went with some bad hacked firmware LOL), If that doesn't work, its time to go over to my trusty Poweredge SC420 and see if CentOS 3.4 will cooperate with me, da*n iptables...

*Anyone ever notice how much easier it is to switch between static and dynamic IP's, and just have everything seem to work when you need it most in Linux? Try that on windows*
Old 12-02-2005, 02:25 PM
  #40  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Vancouver, BC, CANADA
Posts: 397
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Post Your Desktop

ORIGINAL: 2DMaxLST!!

Dual 20.1 LCD's
And finally, someone else with the sense to use a Laser printer!
Old 12-02-2005, 02:33 PM
  #41  
 
gerwen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: St. Thomas, ON, CANADA
Posts: 2,088
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Post Your Desktop

Firefox sure rocks, but i'm not about to try and convince your typical home user (ie: mom) that Linux is for them. It's not.... not yet at least. I like linux, and am rooting for it, but it's not ready for primetime just yet.


My xp workstation switches between static and dynamic without a problem too.
Old 12-02-2005, 04:26 PM
  #42  
Senior Member
My Feedback: (18)
 
jakjr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: victoria, TX
Posts: 5,072
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Post Your Desktop


ORIGINAL: Doahh

I guess I could call myself a computer nerd because I put together and set up half the comps for my family

Viper TNB and Jakjr:
Stop using internet exploder get Mozzilla Firefox... it is MUCH better (blocks those annoying popups) and tabbed browsing is great!

I already have Firefox (in Linux that is) .
Old 12-02-2005, 04:39 PM
  #43  
Senior Member
 
Tigger N. Bennie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Track
Posts: 8,396
Likes: 0
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default RE: Post Your Desktop

ORIGINAL: gerwen
TNB, once you get a taste of tabbed browsing, you can't live without it. It's like it was invented for forum reading.
I must be missing something since I can't see much difference from the photos and from how I view the forum. Of course at home, I use dual monitors anyway and there are also different forum viewing options. I do like Tux--Samari Tux. Red hats, black hats, who cares--there are also IT and computer conventions here if anyone is interested or every around.
Old 12-02-2005, 05:25 PM
  #44  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Vancouver, BC, CANADA
Posts: 397
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Post Your Desktop

ORIGINAL: gerwen

Firefox sure rocks, but i'm not about to try and convince your typical home user (ie: mom) that Linux is for them. It's not.... not yet at least. I like linux, and am rooting for it, but it's not ready for primetime just yet.


My xp workstation switches between static and dynamic without a problem too.
Yeah, I agree with you on that for someone that knows how to use a computer a little, such as most mom's do, but I also know some people who can barely figure out how to navigate to the start menu on Windows,,, Most of them have older computers that would run much faster on Linux anyway, and for them, as long as they can open the application menu, or click on an icon in the panel, they would have no trouble opening up FireFox, Evolution, or Openoffice... Most people think I just have a bunch of modifications on Windows, when in fact I'm really running Linux.
Old 12-02-2005, 05:36 PM
  #45  
Senior Member
My Feedback: (39)
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Orland Park, IL
Posts: 1,725
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Post Your Desktop


ORIGINAL: gerwen

What can i say? I'm a computer professional, this is my bread and butter.
mmmmmmmm........butter............................ ...............[sm=tired.gif][sm=tongue.gif]
Old 12-02-2005, 07:49 PM
  #46  
Senior Member
 
Doahh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Loomis, CA
Posts: 4,290
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Post Your Desktop

I gotta get some pics of my Mac OSXP
it's a 1989 mac (you know those ones with the monotor and CPU as one thing) (the pic is the same model before the conversion)

Well now it has a quality mothorboard with 512MB's of ram upgradeable video card 6 USB ports Front load CD/DVD drive (like in cars where you just stick the CD in the slot) and (heh heh heh) an 8" full color LCD screen
Old 12-02-2005, 07:58 PM
  #47  
Senior Member
My Feedback: (39)
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Orland Park, IL
Posts: 1,725
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Post Your Desktop

lol its like upgrading a honda to a GM truck........SWEET!
Old 12-02-2005, 08:16 PM
  #48  
Senior Member
 
Wide Open's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Mesa, AZ
Posts: 3,127
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Post Your Desktop

thatd be awsome to see some souped up 1980's mac. we have the powerbook g4 and its a great computer. weve never had a single problem with it and the graphics are sweet.
Old 12-02-2005, 08:43 PM
  #49  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: , NV
Posts: 115
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Post Your Desktop

just got around to doing this but here it is



Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	Zx71400.jpg
Views:	12
Size:	76.2 KB
ID:	363875  
Old 12-02-2005, 10:22 PM
  #50  
Banned
My Feedback: (-1)
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Bakersfield, CA
Posts: 963
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Post Your Desktop

Here yea go....Linux Redh

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Manage Preferences Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

Copyright © 2024 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.