Community
Search
Notices
Park Flyers & Backyard Flyers Discuss RC Parkflyers and rc backyard flyers in this forum

help with brushless motor

Search this Thread

Old 08-19-2005, 06:08 PM
ictbu
My Feedback: (2)

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default help with brushless motor

I have a dumb question. I'm new with electrics. I have an electric plane that I'm about finished with but I'm stumped about something. The ESC and the brushless motor have 3 wires instead of 2. The wires coming from my ESC are red, black and orange and all 3 wires coming from the motor are all black. How does that work?? I need to hook up the polarity backward so that the motor pushes instead of pulls for this plane too. Can of you experienced guys help? Am I missing something obvious?

Thanks

Darin
Old 08-19-2005, 07:03 PM
Woody 51

Default RE: help with brushless motor

Brushless Electric motors are minature 3 phase motors. It does not matter which of the 3 wires from the ESC connnects to which of the 3 on the motor.

Follow the instructions with your ESC about initial programming and then switch your Tx on with the throttle stick IN THE POSITION THAT IS STATED IN THE ESC PROGRAMMING INSTRUCTIONS. (READ THEM THROUGH THROUGHLY.)

The stick position for initial switch on will be either full "on" or full "off."

But before you do any of this, remove the prop from the motor (for safetyreasons) before you start to program the ESC.

Once you have programmed in the type of battery pack you have (NiCD, NiMH or LiPO) and if a LiPO, the number of cells in the pack (assuming the ESC is not auto detect for cell count) and whether you want Brake"On" (for gliders) or "Off" (for everything else) and timing ("HARD" for Outrunners, "Moderate" and "Soft" for Inrunners, depending on the number of "turns" the motor is, check the motor instructions, the information will be in there somewhere ) then throttle up.

If the motor spins in the correct direction, then program your control throws, fit the prop and go fly.