Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > Profile and Fun Flying Planes
 Morris Topcap radio set-up >

Morris Topcap radio set-up

Notices
Profile and Fun Flying Planes If you're a profile fan or into fun flyers than this is the forum to discuss those topics.

Morris Topcap radio set-up

Old 08-13-2004, 12:23 AM
  #1  
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (21)
 
Shortman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Portland, Oregon
Posts: 5,966
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Morris Topcap radio set-up

Alright, I finally got my new battery for my topcap and got the hatch all back together again. Still need to really break in the Saito but it should be okay.

I only have 26 flights on it from 1 week of flying it but I want to see what other flying this plane have set-up.

C of G?
Expo on all surfaces
Are you using maximum throw?
Spoilerons
Rudder to elevator mixing for coupling?

Any information would be appreciated.


Steven
Old 08-13-2004, 02:47 PM
  #2  
Senior Member
My Feedback: (26)
 
Goinstraightup's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Baraboo , WI
Posts: 2,307
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Morris Topcap radio set-up

Flew mine for quite a while until I dorked it this spring. Fun plane, but I did have a lot of coupling in KE.

I flew mine with the CG about 1/2" behind the spar.

I was down to almost no Expo on anything. I feel it reduces control feel too much when there is a lot of Expo.

I flew almost at Maximum throw all the time. This is what brought on the demise of the plane - I tried to stretch a glide, but with 3D rates I put myself into a beautiful spin and augured it in. Funny now, but not then

Didn't use Spoilerons.

I ended up with about 12 to 15% elevator with rudder application because of coupling. It helped some, but the coupling has different amounts with different rudder applications so I was always fighting the coupling a bit, but the mixing helped some.

Hope this helps.

Jeff
Old 08-13-2004, 04:16 PM
  #3  
Banned
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Tulsa, OK,
Posts: 1,984
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Morris Topcap radio set-up

ORIGINAL: Goinstraightup

Flew mine for quite a while until I dorked it this spring. Fun plane, but I did have a lot of coupling in KE.
That's interesting. The 2 I've flown had the best KE I've ever seen, bar none. Bill's and Dave McDDD's were SO easy to KE, I wonder what the difference is?
Old 08-14-2004, 11:46 AM
  #4  
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (21)
 
Shortman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Portland, Oregon
Posts: 5,966
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Morris Topcap radio set-up

Mine knife edges good, but does have some coupling. I think it has a lot to do with the set-up. I want to try spoilerons but with the 9CAP I am having trouble trying to get both ailerons to do it. I can get spoilerons on, then when I do, I cant get them off! I had to completely erase all my settings and start all over. I am using a 6 channel Hitec Electron 6 which is maxed out. Any ideas?
Old 08-14-2004, 12:50 PM
  #5  
Senior Member
My Feedback: (2)
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: timbuktoo, ND
Posts: 452
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Morris Topcap radio set-up

Try dropping or raising the flapperons a tad...then re-trimming. This usually helps me.

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are On


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Manage Preferences Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

Copyright © 2024 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.