Community
Search
Notices
Profile and Fun Flying Planes If you're a profile fan or into fun flyers than this is the forum to discuss those topics.

3.5 lb plane

Search this Thread

Old 10-13-2005, 01:21 AM
wright3

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 3.5 lb plane

I know someone here can help me out! I am brand new to glow flying but have lots of experience with pattern and 3D small electric. My friends at the flying field decided I would enjoy cleaning up all the goo after a flying session. They were right! I've really enjoyed flying the Twist powered by a K&B 40 (4011 BB ring). Great sport flying set up but the plane's just a little too heavy for 3D with this engine. It won't pull out of a hover vertically. I've been using an APC 11.5 x4 to get the most thrust from the engine after having tried several pitch sizes in the 10" range. The K&B is terrific but not up to the job of pulling a 6 lb plane up from a hover. I want a good plane with 3D capabilities for this engine. I think a 3.5 to 4 (4.5 max) pound plane will give me the performance I'm after. I prefer full fuselages but will go the profile route if that's best. Time forces me to go the ARF route until I retire. Any suggestions?

Thanks, Randy
Old 10-13-2005, 08:03 AM
cougar347

Default RE: 3.5 lb plane

Randy,

Since you don't have the time to build anything right now, buy one of the OMP 47" ARF profiles, either the Edge or the Yak. Put a Saito 72 on there with a 13 X 4W APC prop and fly the snot out of it. You can run it on 15% fuel and get pretty good economy at the same time. I'm not sure about the ARF's, but my kit builds came in at 4 lbs 4 oz, and I believe you will find the ARF's in the same range, maybe slightly heavier. You'll find these planes to be excellent 3D learning machines.

Vince
Old 10-13-2005, 05:26 PM
RJConnet

Default RE: 3.5 lb plane