Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > Pylon Universe - RC Pylon Racing > Q-40 Racing
Reload this Page >

Spektrum Receiver/Batteries

Notices
Q-40 Racing Discuss AMA 422 and any other variants of Quarter 40 racing

Spektrum Receiver/Batteries

Old 12-04-2014, 06:03 PM
  #1  
redtail
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (15)
 
redtail's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Alexandria, VA
Posts: 2,609
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default Spektrum Receiver/Batteries

Hey guys, trying to get back into racing. What Spektrum receiver are you guys using for either Q40 or Q500? Also, what batteries are you using, I like the A123's? Thanks, can't wait to get back into racing. Chic
Old 12-04-2014, 06:38 PM
  #2  
fizzwater2
My Feedback: (60)
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Paola, KS
Posts: 2,822
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

I like the AR8000, been solid for me. I'm also using 2 cell LiFe batteries - http://hobbyking.com/hobbyking/store...arehouse_.html

The 700 mah are lighter than the smallest real A123's, and I've had great performance from these inexpensive batteries. I know quite a few guys using them.

The AR7610 w/ satellite is also a nice RX, I have a couple of those.

My EF1 planes have AR6210's in them, with satellite RX.

I've flown AR6255 with good results, and the newer AR6260 is pretty slick - it's a main RX and sat RX all in one package. Overall, though, the AR8000 is my most used. In the Q40's I'm using a 9" satellite wire, with the sat RX installed just behind the wing opening, antenna running vertically. The main RX goes ahead of the servos, with the antenna running fore/aft so it's 90 degrees from the vertical satellite.

Last edited by fizzwater2; 12-05-2014 at 06:47 AM.
Old 12-04-2014, 09:11 PM
  #3  
DHULEN
My Feedback: (11)
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Lee\'\'s Summit, MO
Posts: 207
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Is anyone using the 6210s I would think they should work
Old 12-05-2014, 06:46 AM
  #4  
fizzwater2
My Feedback: (60)
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Paola, KS
Posts: 2,822
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Duane- that's what I meant to say my EF-1's have in them, not 6010's. I blame it on getting old..
I'll go back and edit my post to fix that!

I had one 424 plane that I was trying an AR400 in - and again, I had no problems with it, until I loaned the plane to someone else. He won races with the plane and then a rather large fence post jumped up in front of him while landing...

Last edited by fizzwater2; 12-05-2014 at 06:49 AM.
Old 12-05-2014, 11:17 AM
  #5  
redtail
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (15)
 
redtail's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Alexandria, VA
Posts: 2,609
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default

Must be old age. Forgot to ask what Spektrum servos you guys are using in the Q500 and Q40 class. I'll probably need lessons again now that I want to return to racing again. Thanks guys. Chic White
Old 12-05-2014, 02:59 PM
  #6  
fizzwater2
My Feedback: (60)
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Paola, KS
Posts: 2,822
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

I've used the H5000 (sadly, discontinued) with good success.

The newer A5060 appears to be the same basic mechanics, high voltage capable, metal gears, probably a good servo. I heard somewhere that they have been used with good results.

JR 3421's are good servos, have a handful of those in planes.

Older JR 3021 and 3121's still work well, even if they aren't digital servos.

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.