Community
Search
Notices
Q-500 Racing Discuss AMA 428, AMA 424, and any other variants of Quickie 500 racing

Q500 V-Tail

Search this Thread

Old 02-23-2014, 10:13 PM
spraybar

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Q500 V-Tail

Hi Guys,
I am new to building these V-Tail pylon racers, can any body help me with the following answers to these questions.
I have built a Q500 racer, I have glassed & painted it & it looks really awesome I test flew it the other day fly's really good, but it was climbing so
I had to feed in about three trim clicks of down Elevator, now what I want to know is if somebody can tell me, if I sand the back trailing edge of the wing saddle
Would that square up the elevators to the tail plane, & then the elevators would be neutral to the tail plane. I don't want to cut the tail plane out of the fuse just
To move either the trialing edge or the leading of the v-tail up or down cause its all been painted so nice ah! so could i just sand the back of the wing saddle & would that correct the neutral position of the v-tail by doing this or would I have to sand the front of the wing saddle to correct this problem can some give me some advice please.
Old 02-24-2014, 03:53 AM
BobHH
My Feedback: (18)

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

To fix your problem you would need the front of the wing saddle sanded to lower the leading edge thus decreasing the lift. Before I would do that I recommend putting a small shim under the rear trailing edge say 1/32 plywood and test fly it. Keep adding these shims until you get your desired results. If it only requires a shim or two then my suggestion is to pot the wing in with the shims in place thus eliminating the need to sand the wing saddle.I never pot a wing in until I test fly the model to see if it needs any final trimming.

Bob Harris
Old 02-24-2014, 09:03 AM
fizzwater2
My Feedback: (61)

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

high wing or low wing?
Old 02-24-2014, 10:15 AM
spraybar

Its a high wing same as a viper.