Notices
Quadra-Aerrow Engines Get direct support for you Quadra-Aerrow Engines here!

Quadra 35?

Old 01-08-2005, 11:48 PM
  #1  
tconnell
Senior Member
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (7)
 
tconnell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Valdosta, GA
Posts: 106
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Quadra 35?

I have a Quadra 35?? I think. No markings on it at all much but a couple of sets of numbers that don't match any of the sets of numbers talked about here relating to the engine size. It does say made in Canada on one place on the case, and then again on the fluted piece on the prob shaft it says Made in USA. It only has the one ring.

My problem is that this engine has been sitting up for some 20 years wrapped in a good oily rag in a box. I don't have any information or instructions on the engine. It has the fluted rotating piece attached to the prop and the black coil sitting just above that. The muffler is just a little can with several luvers cut in, in two rows. I had the enging on a 1/4 Cap 21 years ago and it ran like crazy with an 18x8 on it. The prop is still on the engine now. The engine mount is a couple of large round glass filled pieces that are joined by a round piece in the middle. One side is attached to the engine and the other to the firewall. The piece in the middle unclamps allowed me to easily rotate the engine to just the right angle to fit most any application. Don't remember where that came from either.

I read a post somewhere where someone said, "Send me $30 bucks and I will send you a new ignition" and I think I need a new one on here before I put this to work again as I'm getting no fire to the plug. Can someone here lead me to the correct person for this.

Thanks a bunch.

Tommy
Old 01-18-2005, 09:41 PM
  #2  
naefha
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Enola, PA
Posts: 46
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Quadra 35?

Check us out under www.us-engines.com
We have all the parts for the US and Quadra engine line. Also for the old Quadras Q35, Q40, Q42 and so on.

Best regards,
Hanspeter Naef
USQ Aero, Inc.
400 Cheryl Ave.
Mechanicsburg, PA 17055
Tel: 717 343 1529
Old 06-02-2005, 07:38 PM
  #3  
naefha
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Enola, PA
Posts: 46
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Quadra 35?

All parts are still available for this "old Q35. The piston diameter is probably 36.5mm

Best regards,
Hanspeter Naef
U.S. Quadra Aero Engines
400 Cheryl Ave.
Mechanicsburg, PA 17055

www.usqengines.com

Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	Xv62897.jpg
Views:	144
Size:	226.5 KB
ID:	279642  
Old 09-08-2005, 05:39 AM
  #4  
ultralajt
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Sentjanz, SLOVENIA
Posts: 8
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Quadra 35?

Hi!

I will make my post here, because it is about Quadra 35 ccm.

I own quite old and used engine Quadra 35. The delivered thrust with 18x8 Metts (wooden) propeller is only about 3 kg.
From what I already read on this forum, the timing for max revolutions should be 28°. I check the timing on my engine as it was...and it was 22°.
I set the timing to 30° and engine backfired on start and wont start at all. Then I reduce the timing advance and I notice the increase of the revolution of engine simply by comparing audio file before and audio file before timing change. It is noticable change of sound.

But I am confused by one thing. It looks that I can set only the point gap. If I set it wider, than the ignition will advance, and if I set point gap narrower, this will retard the timing.(think so...)
Making the point gap wider, means obvously that points will start to open sooner...hence advanced timing.


So, my question is, how to set this kind of timming properly (point gap....timing advance), so that my "poor" engine will give more power.
Ive heard that one could expect about 6-9 kg of static trust on 18x8 propeller.


This is my model with above mentioned engine.

Regards!

Mitja
Old 09-10-2005, 03:43 AM
  #5  
ultralajt
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Sentjanz, SLOVENIA
Posts: 8
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Quadra 35?

Yesterday I find out the source of poor engine performance!
I start engine without muffler and it run like crazy!

The current muffler is not original. I get this muffler at lawn mower engines service workshop..it is the used one.
It looks that it was made for much smaller engine than 35 ccm.
I drill some holes inside the muffler to give exhaust gases free passage trough muffler to exhaust pipe and I instantly get more power.

So, now I will weld new muffler with volume 10 x 35 ccm and two exhaust pipes of about 15 mm dia.

Mitja
Old 09-16-2005, 05:43 AM
  #6  
felicityoppenheimer
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: hobart, AZ, AUSTRALIA
Posts: 1
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Quadra 35?

Hi there. I also have an old quadra. It has '100010' and '78' marked on it. any idea what type/size it is ? cheers, raf
Old 10-25-2005, 09:29 PM
  #7  
bdtsr
My Feedback: (5)
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Loxahatchee, FL
Posts: 1,599
Likes: 0
Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
Default RE: Quadra 35?

Older (points type) 35cc and 40cc engine looked the same. Look into the exhaust port and count the rings on the piston. 1 ring = 35cc, 2 rings = 40cc. The newer 40cc has 1 ring. I have both 35cc and 40cc and are points type engines.
Old 11-28-2005, 10:13 AM
  #8  
naefha
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Enola, PA
Posts: 46
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Quadra 35?

Check out www.usqengines.com
Old 07-24-2006, 05:53 PM
  #9  
Pelle Gris
 
Pelle Gris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Billund, DENMARK
Posts: 575
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Quadra 35?

If you want power, put a tuned pipe on. I fly a 20 year old Q35 with the old "U" shaped tuned pipes. It spins an APC 20x8 at 8000rpm, and pulls my 1:3 scale Pitts very nicely.
When I got the plane it was mounted with a MenzS 20x8, which only turned about 7000rpm, and provided poor performance. The APC really transformed the engine, and due to the rather heavy prop I can get the engine to idle down to around 12-1300rpm.
Old 11-08-2006, 09:37 PM
  #10  
jetjockyf18
My Feedback: (23)
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: private, NC
Posts: 90
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Quadra 35?

Where can you get a tuned pipe for a Q35? Is it very quiet?
jj
Old 08-01-2007, 08:01 PM
  #11  
naefha
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Enola, PA
Posts: 46
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Quadra 35?

www.usqaero.com

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service -

Copyright © 2024 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.