Community
Search
Notices
Quadra-Aerrow Engines Get direct support for you Quadra-Aerrow Engines here!

quadra 50 dead stick on vertical upline

Search this Thread

Old 11-25-2006, 05:59 PM
MatriX40

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default quadra 50 dead stick on vertical upline

hello, im new to gassers. i picked up a quadra 50 and i have it on a 27% cap 232. i have not flown the plane yet. but im performing the pre-maiden flight checks. i have a 20x8-14 prop on it and the engine has already been broken in by the previous owner, and i know this isnt the best prop. but i got it with the engine, anyways the engine will not run with the choke completely opened and when the plane is lifted into a virtical position the engine dies immediatly. with it choked 1/2 way it sounds strong but i am only taching out around 5600 rpm. i thought this was low. maybe i need to tune the carb better, im not sure. And it appears that there are no airbubble in the fuel line when engine quits. any thought, opinions or suggestions are greatly appreciated thank you
Old 11-25-2006, 08:06 PM
w8ye
My Feedback: (16)

Received 9 Likes on 9 Posts
Default RE: quadra 50 dead stick on vertical upline

How's your idle? There's another post near this one where a person had the rear seal leaking. There's a front seal also.

I've seen 41/42's do this with a bad rear seal caused by the spring starter. There could also be a crankcase air leak somewhere else?

The give away is that your choke has to be partially on. Another give away would be the engine is hard to get to pick up the fuel and finally run.

Before you get too excited, try making the mixture a little richer and see what you have?
Old 11-26-2006, 12:10 AM
rcbill58
My Feedback: (9)

I suspect one of the following conditions may be causing the problem;

In light of the fact that you bought the engine used, you don't know the history, age or maintennce of the engine. Based on my experience, I would try: