Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > Questions and Answers
Reload this Page >

Airplane will not complete a loop

Notices
Questions and Answers If you have general RC questions or answers discuss it here.

Airplane will not complete a loop

Old 09-15-2010, 06:07 AM
  #1  
wright2u
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (4)
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Powder Springs, GA
Posts: 15
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Airplane will not complete a loop

I have a 82 inch Cap 232, powered by a Moki 180 and when I perform a loop it will pitch upward and will not complete the loop, also when landing and I throttle down on approch the plane will pitch upward. (WHY???)[]
Old 09-15-2010, 06:21 AM
  #2  
sensei
 
sensei's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: SAN ANTONIO, TX
Posts: 2,733
Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts
Default RE: Airplane will not complete a loop

Sounds tail heavy.

Bob
Old 09-15-2010, 07:04 AM
  #3  
Scar
My Feedback: (3)
 
Scar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Peoria Hts, Il. IL
Posts: 3,120
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Airplane will not complete a loop


ORIGINAL: wright2u

I have a 82 inch Cap 232, powered by a Moki 180 and when I perform a loop it will pitch upward and will not complete the loop, also when landing and I throttle down on approch the plane will pitch upward. (WHY???)[]
There is a trimming process you should go through, you can find it on the NSRCA website. It includes a test for engine downthrust. If you're flying along at half throttle, trimmed for straight & level flight, and dropping the throttle causes a pitch up... you have too much down thrust. That is, when you remove the down thrust by cutting the throttle, you find you've put in a lot of up elevator trim to keep the plane flying straight & level under power.

My Midwest Cap / Moki 180, makes huge loops. Or tight ones. Yours will too, once you sort out the trim issues and resolve any engine / prop issues. Start with that downthrust test, and go through the rest of the trim procedure.

Good luck,
Dave Olson
Old 09-15-2010, 08:13 AM
  #4  
David Bathe
 
David Bathe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Oslo, NORWAY
Posts: 1,242
Likes: 0
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default RE: Airplane will not complete a loop

As stated above, too much down thrust.
Try setting to -0.5-deg and retrim the model.
Old 09-15-2010, 04:18 PM
  #5  
jetmech05
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Posts: 4,855
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Airplane will not complete a loop

If the down thrust is ok....
Are you trimmed for straight and level flight at mid throttle? or high power?
If trimmed at high power try and trim for mid throttle.....
to check for CG, in flight pull up to a 45 deg up line, roll inverted, get wings level and release the sticks...if the airplane pitches nose high you're tail heavy.....

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.