Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > Questions and Answers
Reload this Page >

Anyone that owns a Great Planes Escapade...Question?

Notices
Questions and Answers If you have general RC questions or answers discuss it here.

Anyone that owns a Great Planes Escapade...Question?

Old 09-24-2010, 02:36 PM
  #1  
CGCINC
Senior Member
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (1)
 
CGCINC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: small town, MO
Posts: 236
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Anyone that owns a Great Planes Escapade...Question?

The Aileron rods coming out of the wings have an oblong hole so it will move back and fourth with the servo push/pull. (see pic)
In my wings, the Aileron will travel farther down than it does up because the oblong hole is not oblong enough towards the back edge of the wing.
I filed and shaved mine out so there is full travelboth ways.
Just want to make sure I should have done that?

Picture borrowed from Alvinrc.com ...
Old 09-24-2010, 02:40 PM
  #2  
Charlie P.
 
Charlie P.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Port Crane, NY
Posts: 5,088
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Anyone that owns a Great Planes Escapade...Question?

Don't own one, but it doesn't matter if they are equal as long as either directionachieved the maximum recommended throw from the manual. Too much aileron is . . . too much aileron.

PS - not to worry about it yet(or ever withthis model) but down aileron is somewhat redundant and you could fly pretty wellinputting only up aileron on the side to which you want to bank and leaving the opposite side neutral. But you can't play with that on a single-aileron servo craft.
Old 09-24-2010, 02:55 PM
  #3  
CGCINC
Senior Member
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (1)
 
CGCINC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: small town, MO
Posts: 236
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Anyone that owns a Great Planes Escapade...Question?


ORIGINAL: Charlie P.

Don't own one, but it doesn't matter if they are equal as long as either directionachieved the maximum recommended throw from the manual. Too much aileron is . . . too much aileron.

PS - not to worry about it yet(or ever withthis model) but down aileron is somewhat redundant and you could fly pretty wellinputting only up aileron on the side to which you want to bank and leaving the opposite side neutral. But you can't play with that on a single-aileron servo craft.
Up aileron is what was limited. I'm sure it would have worked fine but now it is a little more free moving.
It's my first Balsa plane so I just want to make sure it's right.... Then I can't blame the future crash on anything but pilot error!!
Old 09-24-2010, 04:43 PM
  #4  
Luchnia
My Feedback: (21)
 
Luchnia's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Amelia, VA
Posts: 2,079
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Anyone that owns a Great Planes Escapade...Question?


ORIGINAL: CGCINC


ORIGINAL: Charlie P.

Don't own one, but it doesn't matter if they are equal as long as either direction achieved the maximum recommended throw from the manual. Too much aileron is . . . too much aileron.

PS - not to worry about it yet (or ever with this model) but down aileron is somewhat redundant and you could fly pretty well inputting only up aileron on the side to which you want to bank and leaving the opposite side neutral. But you can't play with that on a single-aileron servo craft.
Up aileron is what was limited. I'm sure it would have worked fine but now it is a little more free moving.
It's my first Balsa plane so I just want to make sure it's right.... Then I can't blame the future crash on anything but pilot error!!
I had to trim a trainer slot out one time that was just like that. The thing would not move enough in the slot. I just cut some more space there and made sure everything was freed up. It works fine now. I do prefer dual servos on ailerons though, but the single servo works well that is all you need until you get more advanced and want to beef up your game a little.

How soon will it be before you are getting her airborne?
Old 09-24-2010, 05:05 PM
  #5  
CGCINC
Senior Member
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (1)
 
CGCINC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: small town, MO
Posts: 236
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Anyone that owns a Great Planes Escapade...Question?




How soon will it be before you are getting her airborne?

It's will be probably next weekend. I'm waiting on my Futaba 8FG to get here.
Old 09-24-2010, 08:06 PM
  #6  
bhady
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Fairmont, MN
Posts: 274
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default RE: Anyone that owns a Great Planes Escapade...Question?

You did exactly what I did, which is to open things up to allow full travel.
bhady
Old 09-24-2010, 08:20 PM
  #7  
da Rock
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Near Pfafftown NC
Posts: 11,511
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Anyone that owns a Great Planes Escapade...Question?

ORIGINAL: CGCINC

The Aileron rods coming out of the wings have an oblong hole so it will move back and fourth with the servo push/pull. (see pic)
In my wings, the Aileron will travel farther down than it does up because the oblong hole is not oblong enough towards the back edge of the wing.
I filed and shaved mine out so there is full travel both ways.
Just want to make sure I should have done that?
The blocking was simply a manufacturing mistake. Guaranteed, blocking that hole was not on purpose to do anything worthwhile.

You should always do things like that.

Good move.

Old 09-24-2010, 09:45 PM
  #8  
CGCINC
Senior Member
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (1)
 
CGCINC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: small town, MO
Posts: 236
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Anyone that owns a Great Planes Escapade...Question?

Good....

Don't wanna screw it up Before I fly it.
Old 09-25-2010, 06:31 AM
  #9  
Roo Man
My Feedback: (1)
 
Roo Man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Lakeland FL
Posts: 563
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Anyone that owns a Great Planes Escapade...Question?

I have had to do the sane thing on a couple of planes, it's not problem.

On your maiden, watch the ground handling, the Escapade can be squirley on take off roll. Start slow to get lined up and add power slowly while maintaing a straight roll. Mine also wants to land a little fast so I would keep 2 or 3 clicks of throttle until you are down close to runway.

Watch the tail gear, as mne was very fimsy and had to be replaced, may have been my rough landings when first started flying.

It's a great plane, have fun.

Gary
Old 09-25-2010, 06:39 PM
  #10  
CGCINC
Senior Member
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (1)
 
CGCINC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: small town, MO
Posts: 236
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Anyone that owns a Great Planes Escapade...Question?


ORIGINAL: Roo Man

I have had to do the sane thing on a couple of planes, it's not problem.

On your maiden, watch the ground handling, the Escapade can be squirley on take off roll. Start slow to get lined up and add power slowly while maintaing a straight roll. Mine also wants to land a little fast so I would keep 2 or 3 clicks of throttle until you are down close to runway.

Watch the tail gear, as mne was very fimsy and had to be replaced, may have been my rough landings when first started flying.

It's a great plane, have fun.

Gary
Thanks for the info!! The tail gear is pretty flimsy so I think it's just how it is.

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.