Community
Search
Notices
Questions and Answers If you have general RC questions or answers discuss it here.

After Run Oil

Search this Thread

Old 08-22-2003, 08:51 PM
pixelator

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default After Run Oil

I just read a thread on here about After Run oil, and end of day procedures to prolong the life of the engine.

I'm fairly new to Flying, and was curious as to what the procedures are. When I first learned, my instructor taught me to fly well, but failed to mention anything that I needed to do between flights.

In the past, I've typically drained the fuel tank after a day of flying, take the plane home and hang it on the wall, nose down.

I've never run any oil or anything through the engine after... also, after the first 15-20 flights, I was forced to store my plane for 2 years in the closet, with no usage.

Any thoughts on this?
Thanks.
Old 08-22-2003, 10:32 PM
RCPAUL
My Feedback: (1)

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default After Run Oil

If you don't get a zillion replies to this post I'll be surprised.

Here is what I do:

Disconnect the fuel line after flying, and try and start the engine at part throttle. Keep doing this until the engine no longer fires.
Then, put in about 10 drops of a mixture of half Marvel Mystery oil and automatic transmission fluid. Turn the engine over with a starter. put a plastic grocery bag over the front of the airplane to keep dirt out and after run oil in.

RCPAUL
Old 08-23-2003, 12:53 AM
SDR-Hammer

Default After Run Oil

If you get 150 replies you will get 150 different variations on after run procedures.

So here is my .02 cents.
Run it just as Paul described to burn out any remaining fuel.