Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > Questions and Answers
Reload this Page >

A123 battery break in

Notices
Questions and Answers If you have general RC questions or answers discuss it here.

A123 battery break in

Old 02-13-2012, 02:44 PM
  #1  
Stick 40
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: quincy, MI
Posts: 1,205
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default A123 battery break in

Hi,

Got my first A123 battery's, I read somewhere that there is a proper way to break them in. Mine came with no instructions.

I have a good charger with a LiFe setting on it and I usderstand that I can charge the A123 with that setting.

Any help would be welcome, just want to start them off right.

sticks
Old 02-13-2012, 03:37 PM
  #2  
dant-RCU
Senior Member
My Feedback: (3)
 
dant-RCU's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Tulsa, OK
Posts: 803
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: A123 battery break in


http://www.hangtimes.com/nobsbatteries.html

Dan
Old 02-13-2012, 05:29 PM
  #3  
Stick 40
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: quincy, MI
Posts: 1,205
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: A123 battery break in

Hi,

thanks, that is a good site.

But I did not see anything about how to start with a A123. If there is nothing to do, so be it just want to know.

sticks
Old 02-13-2012, 05:39 PM
  #4  
jimmyjames213
Senior Member
My Feedback: (2)
 
jimmyjames213's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: L
Posts: 1,655
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: A123 battery break in

if you had to "break in" a123 cells this would be new to me, i would just charge them slowly on the life setting and stick with that
Old 02-13-2012, 07:22 PM
  #5  
Stick 40
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: quincy, MI
Posts: 1,205
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: A123 battery break in

ok, guess I dont have to break the in.

thanks

sticks
Old 02-13-2012, 08:56 PM
  #6  
4*60
My Feedback: (41)
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Shuswap, BC,
Posts: 1,752
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: A123 battery break in

No break in required.
Old 02-14-2012, 07:10 AM
  #7  
BarracudaHockey
My Feedback: (11)
 
BarracudaHockey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Posts: 26,185
Received 257 Likes on 206 Posts
Default RE: A123 battery break in

Charge - Fly - Repeat
Old 02-14-2012, 08:01 AM
  #8  
K-Bob
Senior Member
My Feedback: (1)
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Anytown
Posts: 1,287
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: A123 battery break in

Not sure of what model charger you have but it's a good idea to balance charge them everytime. No downside except a few extra minutes of your time. A good quality charger like the Cell-Pro series is a good idea also.

You say this is your first set of A123s. If you are not familiar with calculating your Ma usage per flight, you need to be. The link given a few posts back is well worth the read.


Old 02-14-2012, 08:41 AM
  #9  
scale only 4 me
My Feedback: (158)
 
scale only 4 me's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Avon Lake, OH
Posts: 10,288
Received 42 Likes on 40 Posts
Default RE: A123 battery break in

Sticks,,
Yes what K-Bob said.

The most important thing is to calculate your battery life based on how each plane consumes current. Basically you do this

1- Charge pack fully.
2- Fly say a typical 10 mi flight.
3- Charge again taking note of how many Mah the pack consumed for that 10 minute flight
4- Now maybe make 2 flights and repeat step 3

This will give you a good idea how many flights you can get out of a full charge.. I never fly if mine are under 50% flight time
Running 2 2300mah packs on a 50cc 6 digital servo 3D style plane, I get 4-5 flight before I'm near 50%, 100cc plane 3-4 flights.

Good luck

p.s.
Bob, I just got the Cell-pro myself after using our Club Presidents a couple times, I was using a Hyperion before that, also a good charger. Nice feature of the Cell-pro charger is it calculates the Pack's current capacity. So it can be used as a fuel gauge. Seams to be pretty accurate too. A good investment if you use A123s
Old 02-14-2012, 01:09 PM
  #10  
Stick 40
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: quincy, MI
Posts: 1,205
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: A123 battery break in

Hi,

thanks for all the input, I have a good working knowledge of charging and cycling .

If I discharge, what voltage do I set the charger to. Does the A123's have the same problem as Lipo' and discharging below rated voltage?

I have the Thunder Power TP-1010 and it has the LiFe setting, its a very good charger .

Do I have to cycle up and then do a discharge to get an idea of the Milli amps each battery puts out or do I just go by the 2300 the battery is rated.

What is the charge rate and discharge rates, max/min. etc.

sticks

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell or Share My Personal Information -

Copyright © 2023 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.