Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > Questions and Answers
Reload this Page >

What telemetry warning voltage setting to use for LiFe flight batteries?

Notices
Questions and Answers If you have general RC questions or answers discuss it here.

What telemetry warning voltage setting to use for LiFe flight batteries?

Old 09-08-2013, 06:10 AM
  #1  
AA5BY
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: White Oak, TX
Posts: 2,383
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default What telemetry warning voltage setting to use for LiFe flight batteries?

Is there a setting that is ideal? is there a setting that will not false on heavy load voltage drop but still provide adequate reserve to get on the ground?

Will the setting be the same for giant scale and small sport?

For clarity, I'm not interested in a discussion of the minimal value of voltage as a capacity monitor with LiFe batteries. I get that the tradition of expanded scale pre-flight voltage monitoring has little value to determine remaining capacity. Rather, does real time telemetry voltage offer value ie, getting the plane on the ground following a warning?

If so, what setting?
Old 09-13-2013, 03:53 AM
  #2  
AA5BY
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: White Oak, TX
Posts: 2,383
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Rarely does a RC modeling question go unanswered because RC'ers are a very helpful community. My assumption is that readers had none, which left me to do the work to draw my own conclusions.

A report of the first effort. http://pages.suddenlink.net/arlyn/telemetry.html
Old 09-13-2013, 04:48 AM
  #3  
dant-RCU
Senior Member
My Feedback: (3)
 
dant-RCU's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Tulsa, OK
Posts: 803
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

According to Steve Anthony at NoBS Batteries, the "no fly" voltage for A123/LiFE is 3.2 volts per cell.

That is the figure I have been using for 3 years.

Dan
Old 09-13-2013, 05:20 AM
  #4  
AA5BY
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: White Oak, TX
Posts: 2,383
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Thanks for the report and 3.2v sounds like a good number and is the number I've used the past eight months since converting to LiFe and a transmitter with telemetry. When first converting, I'd asked the question and received a reply to set the TX at 6.3v but during the setup of a model requiring a lot of programming and trial, after a warning 1285mah were required to re-charge the 1300mah pack indicating the setting was too low to be safe.

I'm going to try the 6.5v setting for a time, though I suspect it might be too high for my giant scale and that they will need to remain at 6.4v.

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.