Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > Questions and Answers
Reload this Page >

Lipos in a futaba transmitter

Notices
Questions and Answers If you have general RC questions or answers discuss it here.

Lipos in a futaba transmitter

Old 10-20-2013, 01:55 PM
  #26  
skywarrior
 
skywarrior's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: TWICKENHAM, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 401
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Also been using 2S. Lipos on 12FG for years since it came out. Shows 8.3 v when fully charged.
no problems so for
Old 10-20-2013, 05:51 PM
  #27  
cloudancer03
My Feedback: (22)
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: palm harbor, FL
Posts: 2,232
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Futaba or almost any major company wont recommend not because it wont work it is to do with liability.i have a 2600 lipo from rc acessory for my futaba 7c 2.4.given how I fly I only have to charge it every couple moths.its perfectly safe and reliable.beats stupid nicadsand for years used nimh batteries as good as those are I love the lipo battery betterif you forget to turn it off and it goes down to a very lo volage unfortnuately you will lose a cell and not be able to charge.i feel lipos are perfectly safe .you have them in your cell phones right? I think you either like them or you dont and theres nimh and life batteries if you more comfortable.
Old 10-21-2013, 10:57 AM
  #28  
bullseye000
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Batavia, IL
Posts: 284
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default

9C user. I've had a lipo in my radio for 3 years flying year round. Never an issue and don't have to recharge after every flying session like I did with NiCAD's. Keep in mind that Futaba sells some expensive battery packs for replacement in their radios. I'm sure this helps in their decision not to show any support. I also charge the battery out of the radio. Taking it out for a charge is a non-event because it is done so seldom.
Old 10-21-2013, 12:41 PM
  #29  
mscic-RCU
Senior Member
My Feedback: (6)
 
mscic-RCU's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: New London, OH
Posts: 1,237
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

I have been using 3s lipo in my 9c for 5 years. no problems. always charge around 11 volts and out of the transmitter.
Old 12-19-2015, 01:44 PM
  #30  
nickr100
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: erskine, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 145
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by skywarrior View Post
Also been using 2S. Lipos on 12FG for years since it came out. Shows 8.3 v when fully charged.
no problems so for
hi, i know this is an old thread but im looking to use a lipo in my 12FG. could you tell me what lipos fit, and what is any mods i need to do??
cheers
nick
Old 12-23-2015, 06:50 AM
  #31  
foodstick
 
foodstick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: ankeny, IA
Posts: 5,561
Likes: 0
Received 5 Likes on 4 Posts
Default

Futaba 7c
3 cell lipo, have been using several years, charge out of radio, zero problems.

Lasts forever....

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.