Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > Questions and Answers
Reload this Page >

Brand new to gas. DLE 30... Break-in clarification??

Notices
Questions and Answers If you have general RC questions or answers discuss it here.

Brand new to gas. DLE 30... Break-in clarification??

Old 06-12-2015, 12:36 PM
  #1  
Neb_16
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Chesterland, OH
Posts: 14
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Brand new to gas. DLE 30... Break-in clarification??

Hi guys,
I am brand new to gasoline engines (have flown nitro) and was hoping someone could give me some clarification or point me in the direction of of a good resource.
After doing quite a bit of research on the DLE 30 break in procedure, it seems like everyone says something different. Some say to break in on the ground, some say in the air? Some say vary the throttle, others say hold at half throttle, full throttle, etc. There seems to be a consensus on the break in period generally requiring 3-5 gallons.

So my question is... what exactly do I do for those 3 to 5 gallons? The manual seems kind of sparse here... I figured i'd do the first run on the ground to get the needles set properly, but what next?? Run more on the ground? "baby" it in the air until 3+ gallons are through? Any advice or direction would be greatly appreciate.
Old 06-12-2015, 02:23 PM
  #2  
speedracerntrixie
My Feedback: (29)
 
speedracerntrixie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Happy Valley, Oregon
Posts: 7,886
Received 54 Likes on 52 Posts
Default

Run it just enough on the ground to set the needles for clean transition. Keep it just a touch rich and go fly as normal.
Old 06-12-2015, 02:57 PM
  #3  
Steve Percifield
My Feedback: (14)
 
Steve Percifield's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Noblesville, IN
Posts: 1,503
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by speedracerntrixie View Post
Run it just enough on the ground to set the needles for clean transition. Keep it just a touch rich and go fly as normal.
exactly
Old 06-12-2015, 08:55 PM
  #4  
jester_s1
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Fort Worth, TX
Posts: 7,065
Likes: 0
Received 17 Likes on 14 Posts
Default

Don't most manufacturers recommend going a step up in oil content and only using natural oil during break in? Then the pilot can switch to synthetic at the recommended mixture if he wants to. As I understand it, the natural oil will dissipate heat faster and let the ring seat faster due to not being as good a lubricant.
Old 06-13-2015, 03:14 AM
  #5  
BarracudaHockey
My Feedback: (11)
 
BarracudaHockey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Posts: 24,331
Received 67 Likes on 56 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by speedracerntrixie View Post
Run it just enough on the ground to set the needles for clean transition. Keep it just a touch rich and go fly as normal.
+1 And I see a lot more new engines a year than most folks.

Run whatever oil you're going to run it on.
Old 06-13-2015, 07:23 AM
  #6  
Neb_16
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Chesterland, OH
Posts: 14
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Sounds great, thanks so much guys. I plan on using 32:1 lawnboy ashless... if it runs fine with that mixture during break in, will probably just stick with that. That seems like a lot of oil to me though... No issues with plug fouling, etc at that mixture?
Old 06-13-2015, 09:34 AM
  #7  
daveopam
My Feedback: (9)
 
daveopam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: ELK CITY, OK
Posts: 7,628
Received 12 Likes on 12 Posts
Default

Never had the plug foul. It will spit little black dots all over the bottom of the plane and make a mess. After the first gallon, I lean the mixture down to normal and switch to 40:1 Stihl Ultra (in the gray bottle).
As far as how to fly it. Just fly it as normal. If you do some extreme stuff like prolonged hovering or wide open all the time. You might ease into that. But for the average pilot. Just get it close and fly it.

David
Old 06-13-2015, 11:33 AM
  #8  
Gray Beard
My Feedback: (-1)
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Hemderson, NV
Posts: 14,385
Likes: 0
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default

This. Why burn all that gas on the ground?? As everything wears in the tune will start to change a little at a time.
Originally Posted by speedracerntrixie View Post
Run it just enough on the ground to set the needles for clean transition. Keep it just a touch rich and go fly as normal.
Old 06-16-2015, 06:09 AM
  #9  
jetmech05
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Posts: 4,855
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Mount the engine use synthetic oil at 40:1 go fly. It will take a bit longer to break in but it doesn't hurt anything

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.