Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > Questions and Answers
Reload this Page >

2 blade to 3 blade

Community
Search
Notices
Questions and Answers If you have general RC questions or answers discuss it here.

2 blade to 3 blade

Search this Thread

Old 06-17-2015, 12:39 AM
340cudaman

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 2 blade to 3 blade

I have the fun cub. I wish to use a 3 blade instead of 2. I like the extra ground clearance vs a 2 blade. I have a 10-7 3 blade master airscrew, phoenix 50 edge 50a 34v esc, himax brushless outrunner HC3516-1130 and will be using a flightPower li-po 3s 11.1v 25c 24w battery.
Will the 10-7 work with this set-up or will I nedd to use a different prop? I purchased the plane in kit form and is almost completed, so I haven't tested any props yet. Thanks in advance.
Old 06-17-2015, 05:00 AM
jester_s1

Received 35 Likes on 30 Posts

MAS should have the amp draw data for you to see if your power system can handle it and so you can calculate your wattage to see if you'll have enough power. All you need to know is your motor Kv to do the calculations.
Old 06-18-2015, 12:25 AM
340cudaman

jester_s1..Thank you for responding. The kv for my Himax Outrunner is HC3516-1130kv, Rm=.030, lo=1.8 (this is the info on "Electrical Specifications" on the instruction sheet). Can you help me with MAS? (I can't seem to find it on the internet). I wanted the 3-blade for the ground clearance as most of the fields I'm able to fly on are not cut short. I'm fairly new to electric flight, all my other aircraft were either AFR or RTF. I had always gone with the prop size that came with the aircraft.
Thank You in advance for your help. 340cudaman
Old 06-18-2015, 06:00 AM
jester_s1