Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > Questions and Answers
Reload this Page >

rcexl kill switch

Notices
Questions and Answers If you have general RC questions or answers discuss it here.

rcexl kill switch

Old 08-15-2015, 09:47 AM
  #1  
katman74
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (23)
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Lynn Haven, FL
Posts: 123
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default rcexl kill switch

Is there anyway to hook up a rcexl kill switch to a R617 receiver if all channel are occupied.
Old 08-16-2015, 03:10 AM
  #2  
scale only 4 me
My Feedback: (158)
 
scale only 4 me's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Avon Lake, OH
Posts: 9,988
Received 16 Likes on 15 Posts
Default

It needs it's own channel to function, you can Y it with the RX power input if that's taking up a slot
Old 08-16-2015, 07:33 AM
  #3  
jetmech05
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Posts: 4,855
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

The blacks are all tied together and the reds are all tied together inside the receiver. In other words they're bussed together. So a Y harness would work
Old 08-16-2015, 09:14 AM
  #4  
scale only 4 me
My Feedback: (158)
 
scale only 4 me's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Avon Lake, OH
Posts: 9,988
Received 16 Likes on 15 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by jetmech05 View Post
The blacks are all tied together and the reds are all tied together inside the receiver. In other words they're bussed together. So a Y harness would work
Yes, but you can't Y it to a channel that has another function, it uses the signal wire to operate also, to activate/kill the ignition.
Old 08-17-2015, 06:26 AM
  #5  
jetmech05
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Posts: 4,855
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

You sure about the kill switch using the signal wire? Or is it that the kill switch just uses the power.
Old 08-17-2015, 10:26 AM
  #6  
scale only 4 me
My Feedback: (158)
 
scale only 4 me's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Avon Lake, OH
Posts: 9,988
Received 16 Likes on 15 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by jetmech05 View Post
You sure about the kill switch using the signal wire? Or is it that the kill switch just uses the power.
I believe the OP is asking about how to connect to the RX,m not how to power the module

Most power the ignition module with a separate battery pack as intended, I'm pretty the wire to the RX only powers the switch function and it will not power up the module.

Even if it did and you could power it that way the kill function still needs it's own TX to RX channel function so the only thing you can feasibly "Y" it to would be the RX power input.

I think you're confusing a IBEC with an Optikill switch, the IBEC would get power from the RX pack.
Old 08-18-2015, 03:51 PM
  #7  
Steve Percifield
My Feedback: (14)
 
Steve Percifield's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Noblesville, IN
Posts: 1,503
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

that kill switch needs a signal wire to operate. It is just like a servo. If you are using channel 7 as the reveiver battery channel, you can wye the kill switch and the battery together into port 7, and activate what ever switch you want to operate the kill switch.
Old 09-03-2015, 08:06 PM
  #8  
Bcolici
 
Bcolici's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: West Islip N.Y.
Posts: 622
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Just an fyi, it can also be modded to use it as a ibec.
Done fairly easy too if you have some soldering skills.

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.