Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > Questions and Answers
Reload this Page >

Changing TX channel?

Notices
Questions and Answers If you have general RC questions or answers discuss it here.

Changing TX channel?

Old 09-13-2015, 05:30 PM
  #1  
Wagon1
Thread Starter
 
Wagon1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Pensacola, FL
Posts: 210
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Changing TX channel?

Hello. My 15+ year old Futaba T6XA will not charge. The charger is fine, it's the radio. The battery is about 2 years old. I am not ready to make the jump to 2.4 (many airplanes set up with 72 and I have two kids in college). Can I buy a used T6XA and just swap out the crystal??
Old 09-13-2015, 06:42 PM
  #2  
jetmech05
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Posts: 4,855
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

It is still illegal to swap transmitter chrystals without getting the radio tuned in the US.
New batteries are cheap compaired to radios. Is the battery bad or the charge circuit?
Old 09-14-2015, 03:41 AM
  #3  
jester_s1
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Fort Worth, TX
Posts: 7,065
Likes: 0
Received 17 Likes on 14 Posts
Default

Just take the battery out to charge it. If the battery is good and the charger is good, it will work just fine.
Old 09-14-2015, 03:46 AM
  #4  
Steve Percifield
My Feedback: (14)
 
Steve Percifield's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Noblesville, IN
Posts: 1,503
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

There is a diode in the transmitter at the charging jack. It's there to prevent shorting the tranny battery accidentally. It is probably corrupt. It's easily checked with a VOM. Check it and if bad replace. Or, I like the answer. Just take the battery out and charge it. Too simple..
Old 09-14-2015, 05:08 AM
  #5  
tacx
My Feedback: (1)
 
tacx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: washington twp., MI
Posts: 890
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Just taking the battery out and charging it may not be that simple for Wagon1. If he does not have a smart charger and the proper adapter for the battery connector he still has a problem.

His original TX charger is probably just a wall wart and that won't have the proper connector to plug into the battery connector.

Wagon1, you may be able to cobble some wiring between the two connectors to get it to work.
Old 09-14-2015, 05:26 AM
  #6  
Steve Percifield
My Feedback: (14)
 
Steve Percifield's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Noblesville, IN
Posts: 1,503
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by tacx View Post
Just taking the battery out and charging it may not be that simple for Wagon1. If he does not have a smart charger and the proper adapter for the battery connector he still has a problem.

His original TX charger is probably just a wall wart and that won't have the proper connector to plug into the battery connector.

Wagon1, you may be able to cobble some wiring between the two connectors to get it to work.
you don't need a smart charger and splicing in a compatible connector is easy
Old 09-14-2015, 05:58 AM
  #7  
tacx
My Feedback: (1)
 
tacx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: washington twp., MI
Posts: 890
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Yes. You are absolutely correct.
Old 09-14-2015, 06:07 AM
  #8  
rgburrill
 
rgburrill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Dallas, Tx CT
Posts: 2,427
Received 26 Likes on 25 Posts
Default

If the diode is bad you can just short around it. Won't hurt anything unless you use the wrong charger and if all you have is Futaba that isn't a problem.
Old 09-14-2015, 02:27 PM
  #9  
[email protected]
My Feedback: (1)
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: hemet , CA
Posts: 1,164
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

how long you been flying remove your battery plug the futaba charger plug into the battery if after a hour you dont see a charge get a new battery
Old 09-20-2015, 06:32 PM
  #10  
tacx
My Feedback: (1)
 
tacx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: washington twp., MI
Posts: 890
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by [email protected] View Post
how long you been flying remove your battery plug the futaba charger plug into the battery if after a hour you dont see a charge get a new battery
yikes !!

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.