Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > Questions and Answers
Reload this Page >

Nitro Quad-copter How does it yaw?

Notices
Questions and Answers If you have general RC questions or answers discuss it here.

Nitro Quad-copter How does it yaw?

Old 12-06-2016, 12:23 PM
RC_Fanatic
My Feedback: (1)

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Nitro Quad-copter How does it yaw?

Saw an ad and video for a nitro quad-copter. I can figure out how it will roll and pitch, but how to make it yaw? It looks like all props spin at the same speed.
Old 12-07-2016, 07:53 AM
BarracudaHockey
My Feedback: (11)

Received 343 Likes on 274 Posts

Same as all of them, differential thrust
Old 12-07-2016, 03:20 PM
dbacque
My Feedback: (3)

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

No Andy, I don't think it's just like all of them. I'm no expert but regular quads don't use differential thrust to create yaw. They use differential rotation, right? The 2 props rotating one direction will speed up and the 2 going the other direction will slow down, thus rotating the body of the aircraft.

At first I was thinking some sort of differential to allow opposing props to run at different speeds but I wonder if it really might all be done with pitch. Increasing the pitch on clockwise props and decreasing the pitch on counterclockwise props will keep total lift the same but might change the angular forces and cause yaw.

Again, I'm no expert and have no idea if this is how it's being controlled, just my best guess. I look forward to seeing a reply from someone who knows how this aircraft is set up.

Dave
Old 12-07-2016, 04:52 PM
RC_Fanatic

Maybe I should have posted this question in a quad-copter forum. No, more fun to try to figure it out!
Old 12-07-2016, 05:00 PM
dbacque

I started to say you might get an answer sooner on another forum but I'm really wanting to see the answer too, so I didn't mention it. Can't wait for the real answer.

Dave
Old 12-09-2016, 12:41 PM
RC_Fanatic