Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > Questions and Answers
Reload this Page >

Designing a 3D printed RC plane

Notices
Questions and Answers If you have general RC questions or answers discuss it here.

Designing a 3D printed RC plane

Old 02-03-2021, 06:56 AM
TendieDemon

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Talking Designing a 3D printed RC plane

Hey everyone! I'm a senior aviation engineering student working on his bachelor's thesis and I've decided to build a 3D printed RC plane. Initially I've based my work on a similar paper I've written for a 3D printed plane project, however, as I've started laying out my hardware and designing the shell I've realized that my COM was WAY off and I also no longer have the wing span restriction I've had in the previous paper so I can probably optimize the design better. I will probably have more questions later, but currently I'm looking for general advice on best ways to deal with a relatively heavy airframe, since that's the main disadvantage of 3D printed planes. Currently I have all the hardware I need prepared around a 400W brushless motor. The main requirements of the design are low takeoff and stall speed, ease of control and durability. High top speed is not important and neither is battery economy. Additional carrying capacity for equipment is a big bonus, but not a necessity. Other than that, it can be high wing or low wing, biplane or whatever. I'm not quite new to RC but I haven't built a plane since I was 13 so I'm rediscovering a lot of things somewhat lol.

Thanks for any help!

EDIT: Thinking about programming the plane to use flaparons as well. Anything important I should know in regards of that?

Last edited by TendieDemon; 02-03-2021 at 06:59 AM.
Old 02-03-2021, 09:55 AM
rgburrill

Received 36 Likes on 34 Posts

Thingiverse.com. Some interesting ideas, some way out ideas, some useful ideas.
The following users liked this post:
TendieDemon (02-03-2021)
Old 02-11-2021, 11:49 AM
jester_s1