Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > Questions and Answers
Reload this Page >

servo twitches?

Community
Search
Notices
Questions and Answers If you have general RC questions or answers discuss it here.

servo twitches?

Search this Thread

Old 06-07-2021, 07:21 PM
astronut
My Feedback: (5)

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default servo twitches?

A member had posted a question about a problem he was having with servos:"After more unplugging and plugging, I find if I take out the y harness and plug one aileron at a time it will sit there all night quiet. Plug the y harness in (which I really need to fly this plane) and all **** hits the fan. Meaning servos acting with no inputs.Oh, since learning this I have changed the y harness out three times also, with same results. I don't think it's ducts or something like that, I've been doing this for many years building and testing in the same room. Never had a problem like this."

Did you ever get this resolved? The thread turned into a shouting match so I didn't read the whole thing. One possible cause is if the servo sees low voltage on the signal wire due to the additional resistance caused by an extension/y-harness. This shows up on cheaper extensions which dont have gold plated contacts. Ive also had spurious emissions from a radio interfere with the servo pulses coming out of the rx, but only when the tx is very close.
Old 06-08-2021, 04:04 AM
rgburrill

Received 76 Likes on 67 Posts

I had the same problem and it did turn out to be low voltage.
Old 06-08-2021, 04:17 AM
speedracerntrixie
My Feedback: (29)

Received 176 Likes on 151 Posts

The OP stated that changing out the ESC fixed the issue. I suspect that his original ESC had too high of a BEC voltage. Unfortunately he never returned to confirm. Yes sadly some threads get nasty. In this case the drama was caused by a troll that has since been banned. A few individuals from the AMA forum sometimes like to start drama with others from time to time.