Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > Questions and Answers
Reload this Page >

Tech aero kill switch

Notices
Questions and Answers If you have general RC questions or answers discuss it here.

Tech aero kill switch

Old 03-04-2023, 11:54 PM
  #1  
Holmatas
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2019
Location: Australia
Posts: 39
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Tech aero kill switch

Hi all,
can a tech aero ibec switch be used when i use two batteries ?
Ultra stick with TP10 gas engine, 2200 mah LIFe battery powering the receiver and a 2000 mah Lipo powering the ignition. If i connect ibec to receiver channel 5, it gets power from both ends and kill switch becomes live at all times ?
cheers.
Old 03-05-2023, 05:48 AM
  #2  
speedracerntrixie
My Feedback: (29)
 
speedracerntrixie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Happy Valley, Oregon
Posts: 9,242
Received 155 Likes on 133 Posts
Default

No need to run 2 batteries. Run the single LiFe battery for the ignition and receiver. Set the jumper on the IBEC for 6.1V and you are good to go. The additional battery is just more weight you don’t need.
Old 03-05-2023, 08:53 AM
  #3  
BarracudaHockey
My Feedback: (11)
 
BarracudaHockey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Posts: 26,468
Received 293 Likes on 235 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by speedracerntrixie
No need to run 2 batteries. Run the single LiFe battery for the ignition and receiver. Set the jumper on the IBEC for 6.1V and you are good to go. The additional battery is just more weight you donít need.
This^^

The whole point of that device is to power the ignition from the receiver
Old 03-05-2023, 01:52 PM
  #4  
Holmatas
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2019
Location: Australia
Posts: 39
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

The engine won’t run properly on the 2200 mah battery alone , it won’t idle, it does run at full revs but runs terrible at idle, stalls when throttle is increased .
With two batteries connected it runs fine.
Old 03-05-2023, 04:12 PM
  #5  
speedracerntrixie
My Feedback: (29)
 
speedracerntrixie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Happy Valley, Oregon
Posts: 9,242
Received 155 Likes on 133 Posts
Default

That’s not normal. You have an issue with the ignition.
Old 03-06-2023, 01:20 AM
  #6  
Holmatas
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2019
Location: Australia
Posts: 39
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Would the IBec be better set to 6.6 v to match the 6.6 LIFe battery?
Old 03-06-2023, 04:50 AM
  #7  
tedsander
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: White Bear lake, MN
Posts: 720
Likes: 0
Received 60 Likes on 57 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by Holmatas
Would the IBec be better set to 6.6 v to match the 6.6 LIFe battery?
It depends on what your ignition module specs. Some cannot handle higher input voltages, and will burn out. If within spec and you have been using a LiFe to power the ignition successfully, then YES, setting the output voltage higher on the IBEC will help. But, it is a rare ignition module that actually needs 6+ volts. Most are very happy with as little as 4.8. I'd suspect voltage drop in the wiring (too long of a run and/or not heavy enough of a wire gauge). So if your IBEC is set to say 5v, but the wiring is causing a 1/2v drop, then the module is only getting 4.5, and is struggling. Bumping the IBEC to 6.6 would result in the module seeing about 6, which should make it happy.
There could be other reasons for a voltage drop - like brownouts due to too many things pulling power from the receiver connection (not enough to glitch the receiver, but coupled with a "low" output setting on the IBEC, enough to give the ignition fits).
Old 03-06-2023, 04:54 AM
  #8  
speedracerntrixie
My Feedback: (29)
 
speedracerntrixie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Happy Valley, Oregon
Posts: 9,242
Received 155 Likes on 133 Posts
Default

You could try but the ignition should work at 6.1V. If it requires more voltage then that it is defective and will eventually fail completely. It’s also possible that if your plug gap is too large for the ignition not to work at lower voltage, or plug cap is not installed correctly. Those two things are a shot in the dark but worth looking at.
Old 03-06-2023, 05:07 AM
  #9  
BarracudaHockey
My Feedback: (11)
 
BarracudaHockey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Posts: 26,468
Received 293 Likes on 235 Posts
Default

Most battery problems dont show up at idle, they can't keep up at full throttle.
Old 03-06-2023, 05:33 PM
  #10  
Holmatas
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2019
Location: Australia
Posts: 39
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

My ignition is a Turnigy Power
Applicable voltage is 6-12 V
Thanks for the comments so far ,i will check plug gap and may try dropping the Ibec down to 6.1V
Just checked plug gaps on two new 1/4-32 plugs, measured 0.14''
cheers.

Last edited by Holmatas; 03-06-2023 at 06:16 PM. Reason: added comment
Old 03-06-2023, 07:51 PM
  #11  
speedracerntrixie
My Feedback: (29)
 
speedracerntrixie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Happy Valley, Oregon
Posts: 9,242
Received 155 Likes on 133 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by Holmatas
My ignition is a Turnigy Power
Applicable voltage is 6-12 V
Thanks for the comments so far ,i will check plug gap and may try dropping the Ibec down to 6.1V
Just checked plug gaps on two new 1/4-32 plugs, measured 0.14''
cheers.
That plug gap canít be right.
Old 03-06-2023, 10:30 PM
  #12  
Holmatas
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2019
Location: Australia
Posts: 39
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Sorry, my mistake, should have been .014”
It says somewhere else on this site that 1/4-32 plug gap can be .022-.025, does this sound unreasonable?
cheers.

Last edited by Holmatas; 03-06-2023 at 10:49 PM. Reason: Added comment
Old 03-07-2023, 05:00 AM
  #13  
speedracerntrixie
My Feedback: (29)
 
speedracerntrixie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Happy Valley, Oregon
Posts: 9,242
Received 155 Likes on 133 Posts
Default

You can try opening up the plug gap and see if it helps. I would also try to find any reviews on that engine to see if others experienced the same issues.

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell or Share My Personal Information -

Copyright © 2023 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.