Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > Questions and Answers
Reload this Page >

Rx antenna in a Carbon Fiber tube?

Notices
Questions and Answers If you have general RC questions or answers discuss it here.

Rx antenna in a Carbon Fiber tube?

Old 12-26-2003, 11:19 AM
  #1  
Duane-RCU
Senior Member
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (5)
 
Duane-RCU's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Arlington, TX
Posts: 548
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Rx antenna in a Carbon Fiber tube?

I building a wing, and using a CF tube in it. I was wondering if running the antenna inside it will cause range or other problems.
Old 12-26-2003, 11:31 AM
  #2  
michpittsman
Senior Member
My Feedback: (11)
 
Join Date: Jan 1970
Location: Muskegon, MI
Posts: 598
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Rx antenna in a Carbon Fiber tube?

BIGTIME problem! CF is electrically conductive, like metal! It would be just the same as running your antenna inside a metal tube. Radio waves will not penetrate. I once touched both leads of a car battery pack to a cf chassis plate-instant arc welder.
Old 12-26-2003, 11:54 AM
  #3  
CafeenMan
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Spring Hill, FL
Posts: 4,734
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Rx antenna in a Carbon Fiber tube?

Good info MichPittMan... I didn't know that cf was conductive. Learn something new every day.
Old 12-26-2003, 01:28 PM
  #4  
Duane-RCU
Senior Member
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (5)
 
Duane-RCU's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Arlington, TX
Posts: 548
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Rx antenna in a Carbon Fiber tube?

That's what I thought, but I was looking at the RCM Bug plans, and it seems they are running it down inside the CF tube? In my other plane, I have CF pushrods, and I keep it WAY away from it. I just thought it would be an easy wasy to hide it inside a flying wing, but I guess I will also just put in a plastic tube for it. Thanks for the help.
Old 12-26-2003, 04:59 PM
  #5  
TerrellFlyer
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Terrell, TX
Posts: 1,631
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Rx antenna in a Carbon Fiber tube?

Cf is conductive,I have never tried it but I would be very nervous about using it as an antenna sleeve,even with range check.
Old 01-02-2004, 01:36 AM
  #6  
Tired Old Man
Senior Member
My Feedback: (1)
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Valley Springs, CA
Posts: 18,602
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Rx antenna in a Carbon Fiber tube?

Just a bit of info and CF. Two CF control rods running the length of the fuselage. They make contact with each other where they cross to opposite sides of the fuselage. When they move, they make a lot of RF noise as they slide alongside each other. MAJOR radio glitches. I'll never do it that way again, and have to change the set up before it flys again.

Don't run you antenna inside a CF tube. You're begging for trouble.
Old 01-02-2004, 02:43 AM
  #7  
whstlngdeath
My Feedback: (15)
 
whstlngdeath's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Catoosa, OK
Posts: 1,023
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Rx antenna in a Carbon Fiber tube?

I had to see for myself. I put a multi meter to a length of CF tube and lo and behold, it reads continuity! It rings with some resistance, but not much and it is definately conductive. Good to know in case someone wants to run some CF pushrods or spars.

Jesse
Old 01-02-2004, 07:45 AM
  #8  
CafeenMan
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Spring Hill, FL
Posts: 4,734
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Rx antenna in a Carbon Fiber tube?

Maybe they should put warning stickers on this stuff so people don't have to find out the hard way. I might have used it to house an antenna not knowing any better. But I do range check my radio with the engine runnin - especially new and repaired planes so chances are I would have caught it, but still.
Old 01-02-2004, 02:41 PM
  #9  
Jemo
Senior Member
My Feedback: (5)
 
Jemo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: in, FL
Posts: 1,924
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Rx antenna in a Carbon Fiber tube?

Carbon is the main ingredient in Steel,........

The Sullivan push rods "Precision Rods" I think they are called, do not have enough carbon to cause an RF problem, but I still wouldn't run an antenna through it.
Old 01-03-2004, 01:13 AM
  #10  
Pushrod02
Senior Member
My Feedback: (16)
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Pueblo, CO
Posts: 338
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Rx antenna in a Carbon Fiber tube?

I beg my antenna tubes from the LHS. They get their music wire in clear plastic tubes about 5/16" in diameter and 4' long.
Old 01-03-2004, 03:14 AM
  #11  
3DFanatic
Senior Member
My Feedback: (5)
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Tacoma, WA
Posts: 2,668
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Rx antenna in a Carbon Fiber tube?

I don't bother with antenna tubes...excess weight.
Old 01-03-2004, 05:17 AM
  #12  
Pushrod02
Senior Member
My Feedback: (16)
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Pueblo, CO
Posts: 338
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Rx antenna in a Carbon Fiber tube?

ORIGINAL: 3DFanatic

I don't bother with antenna tubes...excess weight.
Your right, it adds about 3 oz. but well worth it if you ever had an antenna rub threw on a 40% and suddenly lost your range. [X(] Don't ask...
Old 01-06-2004, 10:53 PM
  #13  
fledermaus
Senior Member
 
fledermaus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Winnipeg, MB, CANADA
Posts: 322
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Rx antenna in a Carbon Fiber tube?

ORIGINAL: Jemo

Carbon is the main ingredient in Steel,........
NO, that's not true. IRON is the main ingredient in steel.

From [link=http://www.thefabricator.com/xp/Fabricator/Articles/Welding/Weld03/03web304.xml]http://www.thefabricator.com/xp/Fabricator/Articles/Welding/Weld03/03web304.xml[/link]
while there are steels that have up to 2 percent carbon content, they are the exception. Most steel contains less than 0.35 percent carbon. To put this in perspective, keep in mind that’s 35/100 of 1 percent, or 0.0035 percent carbon. (By the way, a steel’s carbon content is often described in terms of points, with 1 point equaling 0.01 percent carbon.)
Carbon fibers are similar to graphite - aka the "lead" in pencils. Graphite is an excellent conductor of electricity (ask me how I know) and so are carbon fibers. You can get the details from any introductory chemistry book in the chapter where they talk about solid state structures and crystals.

Cheers![8D]

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright © 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.