Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > Questions and Answers
Reload this Page >

4.8v vs 6 volt servos

Notices
Questions and Answers If you have general RC questions or answers discuss it here.

4.8v vs 6 volt servos

Old 01-05-2004, 08:20 AM
  #1  
3D Flyer
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (37)
 
3D  Flyer's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Walkersville, MD
Posts: 345
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 4.8v vs 6 volt servos

I am a newbie to high torque servos. Could someone explain to me how you hook up
servos to run at 6 volts? I need educated in this area.

Thanks.
Old 01-05-2004, 09:06 AM
  #2  
Flypaper 2
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Kingston, ON, CANADA
Posts: 4,925
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default RE: 4.8v vs 6 volt servos

Just put in a 6 volt power pack and your good to go. Nothing else needs to be changed.
Old 01-05-2004, 10:31 AM
  #3  
hilleyja
Senior Member
My Feedback: (3)
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Salem, WV
Posts: 2,181
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: 4.8v vs 6 volt servos

Flypaper 2 is basically correct. There is no difference in the way you hook up a 6volt system vs a 4.8volt system.

You do need to pay attention to your flight pack and whether it is compatible with un-regulated 6volt systems. Some Futaba and JR servos are strickly 4.8volt applications. I'm not familiar with Airtronic systems. I know Futaba has a servo/gyro combo that will only run on 4.8volts. I do believe all of Hitec flight pack systems are compatible with 6volt without regulators.
Old 01-05-2004, 12:06 PM
  #4  
3D Flyer
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (37)
 
3D  Flyer's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Walkersville, MD
Posts: 345
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: 4.8v vs 6 volt servos

thanks ...
Old 01-06-2004, 12:46 AM
  #5  
ifixairplanes
Senior Member
My Feedback: (9)
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: haverhill, MA
Posts: 1,511
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: 4.8v vs 6 volt servos

you will get more torque and speed from your servos with a 6v system too. i run 1 unregulated with futaba standard servos and receiver, never had a problem.

sean
Old 01-06-2004, 02:02 AM
  #6  
EloyM
Senior Member
My Feedback: (194)
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Santa Ana, CA
Posts: 379
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: 4.8v vs 6 volt servos

Nobody has mentioned an important fact! While going from 4.8 to 6.0 volts will increase the servo speed and torque by approximately 20%, it will also increase the current drain by the same amount. In other words, you will have 20% less flying time from a given battery.
Another consideration which we have no data on is that a motor's life is affected by the applied voltage, lessens as the voltage increases. Again, no data, it may be that instead of lasting 10,000,000 revolutions, it will only last 9,999,900 - but it may be a more significant value, especially with the lower priced servos which obviously have lower quality motors.
If you are considering 6.0v only because others do it - the best advice would be: DON't!
Old 01-06-2004, 02:50 AM
  #7  
3DFanatic
Senior Member
My Feedback: (5)
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Tacoma, WA
Posts: 2,668
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: 4.8v vs 6 volt servos

I don't fly anything but 6v anymore. Way better then 4cells. Like Jim said make sure your servos can take it. Also, like Eloy said, the battery drains fasters so it's a good idea to get the next size up in capactiy from the 4 cell you're using now.
Old 01-06-2004, 02:26 PM
  #8  
DMyer
Senior Member
My Feedback: (2)
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Potomac, MD
Posts: 642
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: 4.8v vs 6 volt servos

I use 4.8 volt packs on my sport planes and 6 volt only on my pylon racers. I have never encountered any problems running 6 volts through my JR recievers and servos(901/911 & 3121) as well as HITEC servos(225 & 185). One additional point I like about a 5 cell pack is the insurance factor... you can drop a cell... and still be flying safely at 4.8 volts until you you check it with an ESV and replace it. Go for six if you got a need for speed. Good luck!

Dan

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.