Community
Search
Notices
Questions and Answers If you have general RC questions or answers discuss it here.

HOGBIPE smoke

Search this Thread

Old 02-28-2004, 06:57 PM
hans
My Feedback: (2)

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default HOGBIPE smoke

I'm somewhat new to this, I've built about a half dozen planes from kits I'm almost done with a hogbipe and I would like to add smoke, but don't know the first thing about it. Any advice on where I can find the know how? Or if it isn't to tough tell me how. Thanks abunch Hans
Old 03-01-2004, 01:37 PM
MinnFlyer
My Feedback: (4)

Received 8 Likes on 8 Posts
Default RE: HOGBIPE smoke

Hello hans (From another Minnesotan)

What engine are you using? And where in Minn are you?
Old 03-01-2004, 02:07 PM
hans

I'm using a 91 saito, Staples MN. I have kin living in wilmer.
Old 03-01-2004, 05:11 PM
FHHuber
Banned

Introductory smoke...

Get the TME kit. About $90 retail... has the pump, electronic controller and most of the tubing and fittings you will need. Then you need a gasoline rated fuel tank..(for the smoke oil) and you need a second tap into the muffler. (as close to the headder pipe as you can get.) Wrap the headder with a few turns of copper tube as a pre-heater (for more smoke volume on the same amount of fluid.)

And... you need a 5 cell NiCd pack to power the pump. (don't power it from the RX pack... its a huge drain) 4 cells may not give the power to overcome muffler pressure at full throttle. (wouldn't on my O.S. .91 4-stroke...)

Start out with a commercial smoke fluid such a "SuperDri" if the smoke tank is the same size as the fuel tank... you have smoke for a bit less than 1/4 of the flight. (at $20 a gallon... it costs more to feed the smoke system than the engine... but there are home recipes that will cut the cost... later.)