Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > Questions and Answers
Reload this Page >

using and unbalanced prop on purpose

Community
Search
Notices
Questions and Answers If you have general RC questions or answers discuss it here.

using and unbalanced prop on purpose

Search this Thread

Old 04-09-2004, 07:08 PM
glafond

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default using and unbalanced prop on purpose

I was researching prop balancing techniques today and I came across an interesting article by Joe Wagner. His article cited that on a single cylinder engine, prop balancing is largely a wasted effort. This got my attention in that logically I can follow where this theory could be correct. He talked about a friend who would set the heavy side of a prop down, while the piston was at Top Dead Center. This seemingly counteracted some of the vibration of the engine and reduced vibration even more than having a perfectly balanced prop. Has anyone tried this out with any success? As a novice I wonder if this would be something I could do, or should do, in order to save time and effort and perhaps even enhance my planes performance. Comments, stories, ideas, all welcome. Thanks!
Old 04-09-2004, 07:14 PM
glafond

Default RE: using and unbalanced prop on purpose

Just a correction, the prop was set heavy side down in opposition of the crankpin at TDC. I'm not sure if thats different then what I said but just thought I would clarify.
Old 04-09-2004, 08:39 PM
Stick Jammer

That theory is bunk. The crankshaft is balanced with a counter weight. Anything you bolt to it should be balanced too. If an off balance crankshaft can make the engine run smoother I think they would build them that way.
Old 04-10-2004, 07:33 AM
ifixairplanes
My Feedback: (9)

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

i heard that theory too. i think it is mostly to help off set an unbalanced crankshaft. always balance props.

sean
Old 04-10-2004, 08:16 AM
Strat2003
My Feedback: (1)