Community
Search
Notices
Questions and Answers If you have general RC questions or answers discuss it here.

Healy coil

Search this Thread

Old 05-24-2004, 09:40 PM
skyhi
My Feedback: (1)

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Healy coil

Anyone ever used one on a stripped out glow plug hole?
If so, how did it work out?
Old 05-24-2004, 09:59 PM
Tall Paul

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default RE: Healy coil

It's "Heli-coil". A skilled machinist can install one.
Old 05-24-2004, 10:11 PM
Gdolboy3

well being a machinist myself, there isn't a whole lot of skill involved in installing a Heli-Coil, but there are a couple of things you want to remember. When you get the kit, it tells you exactly what size to drill the stripped hole out to. You'll wanna do that in a drill press. A press is square enough. Don't do it by hand. Use a good Cutting Fluid, not oil. CUTTING FLUID to run the Heli-Coil tap. Take your time with it. Turn the tap 3/4 of a turn in, and back out a 1/4 turn. Once it's finished cutting, remove the tap and clean the chips away completety from the head and the tap, and run the tap thru again. Clean once more. Install the insert. Lockite in place and you're ready for a glow-plug. Now if you stripped out the threads in your head, remember it's not a "head-bolt" it's a glow plug. Doesn't take a whole lot of torque to set one of those. When you instal a Heli-Coil, you want to be even more careful not to over torque. You strip that puppy out and you're looking at a new head, or at least a weld repair and then ya need ya a Machinist.
Old 05-24-2004, 10:29 PM
campbec

When tightening the plug just use two fingers of your left hand (right hand if you are left handed) to turn the glow plug spanner and you won't strip the thread. A built in torque wrench???

Cheers,

Colin
Old 05-26-2004, 11:33 AM
Doug D.

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Clarence Lee of RCM magazine provides this service for a nominal charge. You can find his ad in the classified section of the magazine.
[&:]