Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > Questions and Answers
Reload this Page >

Engine Starter, what to use. need help

Community
Search
Notices
Questions and Answers If you have general RC questions or answers discuss it here.

Engine Starter, what to use. need help

Search this Thread

Old 10-11-2004, 01:32 PM
trottle

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Engine Starter, what to use. need help

What do you guys use for starting your rc engines I have a Hobbico TorqMaster Deluxe 12 volt starter running off a 12 volt 7 Ah battery
it just doesn't seem to have enough power, It can hardly turn over my .71 4 stroke. Any suggestion please. THX
Old 10-11-2004, 01:40 PM
birdnest

Default RE: Engine Starter, what to use. need help

I'd try a stronger battery. I got a small motorcycle battery from Walmart (on sale because the box was torn), I think it puts out about 15 amps or so. Try running your starter off your car battery and you'll have your answer. I also bought a small charger from sears, I think it charges at 2 amps. The only downside is the battery will be heavier.

peter
Old 10-11-2004, 02:21 PM
DBCherry
My Feedback: (4)

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

I use a 12 volt starter but with a couple of RC car packs producing 14.4 volts. The starter doesn't seem to mind at all.

I've started up to G62 gas engines with it.

How old is the 12 volt battery and your starter, and how often do you charge the battery? If you let it get low between charges it'll wear out a lot sooner than if you keep it topped off.
Dennis-
Old 10-11-2004, 03:32 PM
TimC

trottle, I have pretty much the same set-up as yours, and I've used it to even start my 1.20 O.S. four stroke. I did buy a bigger starter to use on the 1.20, but the little Hobbico would do it. It sounds like a bad starter or battery.
Old 10-11-2004, 09:41 PM
mikeboyd