Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > Questions and Answers
Reload this Page >

real answers about paint

Community
Search
Notices
Questions and Answers If you have general RC questions or answers discuss it here.

real answers about paint

Search this Thread

Old 04-27-2005, 09:58 AM
gnirwin
My Feedback: (25)

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default real answers about paint

I'm a slow builder and I've spent countless hours the last 6 months building a Sig Spacewalker and I don't want to screw it up now. I am finishing up the covering of the model. I'm using Cub yellow Solartex in which I'm covering the entire plane. I will be painting the red details as well as applying a clear finish to the entire plane. I've never painted a plane before so I have no experience when it comes to which paint to use. I would really like to go with a Latex paint and spray the entire plane with a water based polyureathane when done to fuel proof and fill the cloth weave. My problem is I've searched this site for answers and I read some that say the water based clear is not fuel proof (glow 10%-15%) and I read some that say it is. I need to know if anyone can give me a straight answer to this problem. I can go with some of the products that I know will work such as Lustrekote and others but I have reasons not to(allergies). I want to go with the water based stuff if I can.
Old 04-27-2005, 11:57 AM
TomCrump

Received 5 Likes on 5 Posts
Default RE: real answers about paint

Most agree that Nelson's clear is fuel proof. Why not use that?
Old 04-27-2005, 01:27 PM
Campy
My Feedback: (1)

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Water base poly is fuel proof to 15% PROVIDED you clean the plane at the end of the day. If you let it sit on the plane overnite (or longer ), the poly is going to soften some.