Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > Questions and Answers
Reload this Page >

Futaba Transmitter

Notices
Questions and Answers If you have general RC questions or answers discuss it here.

Futaba Transmitter

Old 01-16-2007, 11:31 AM
  #1  
Treacle
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Cambridge, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 37
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Futaba Transmitter

At the moment I have got a Futaba Skysports 4 transmitter which is non programmable. I am looking to get a new Futaba transmitter that is programmable. What is the best one for under £100?
Old 01-16-2007, 12:31 PM
  #2  
hrrcflyer
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Carrollton
Posts: 1,698
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Futaba Transmitter

Treacle,

What is the current currency exchange rate? I know Futaba now has a 4 channel radio that is actually very easy to program, but I'm not sure of the price. Futaba also makes the 6EXA which is a six channel easy to program transmitter as well at a reasonable price. Of course other manufacturers make programmable radios, but I'm a Futaba man myself.

Fly safe and have fun!!!
David
Old 01-16-2007, 12:48 PM
  #3  
Villa
Senior Member
 
Villa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Wilson, NC,
Posts: 2,057
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Futaba Transmitter

Hello Treacle
Hope you don't mind a question. What do you want to do that your current radio cannot do? I have had three of the Futaba Skysports 4 radios since 2000 and very rarely do I wish I had more features. Every time I hear of a pilot crashing his plane because "did not know the radio was on high rates" , or some of the many toggle switches was accidentally switched, I am thankfull I have the simple radio. One of my planes has elevons (Flying Lawnmower) so I use a $12.00 mixer between the servos and the receiver to solve the problem. I do keep looking at the computer radios and wonder if I should move up.
Old 01-16-2007, 12:57 PM
  #4  
Treacle
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Cambridge, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 37
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Futaba Transmitter

Thanks David ill look into that.
Old 01-16-2007, 01:02 PM
  #5  
Treacle
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Cambridge, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 37
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Futaba Transmitter

Hi Villa

Well I wanted a programmable transmitter because you can programme in setings for a certain plane. You can also store settings for other planes on the same transmitter.
Old 01-16-2007, 01:06 PM
  #6  
sscherin
Senior Member
My Feedback: (1)
 
sscherin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Kennewick, WA
Posts: 1,152
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Futaba Transmitter

It's to bad you can't get your frequencies through tower hobbies.
With the exchange rate and discounts you could get a 7CAF for about £115

I know there are better prices than these in the UK but I got this with a little google search.
Someone else might be able to point you to the best shop.



4EX £124.99 A good Basic 4ch computer radio
http://www.ripmax.com/item.asp?itemi...tegory=060-010

6EXAP £149.99 Well worth the extra £24.. you get 1 more servo and 6 channels so you won't be replacing it if you want to move into something with retracts or dual aleron servos
http://www.ripmax.com/item.asp?itemi...tegory=060-010

7CAF £229.99 My personal favorite but about double your price range.
http://www.ripmax.com/item.asp?itemi...tegory=060-010
Old 01-16-2007, 06:32 PM
  #7  
daveopam
My Feedback: (9)
 
daveopam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: ELK CITY, OK
Posts: 7,628
Received 12 Likes on 12 Posts
Default RE: Futaba Transmitter

You may not like my advice but I would tell anybody I fly with the same. Save your money until you can get a 9C. You will be glad you did. I have six Skysport 6's gathering dust in my shop. I could have saved a bunch of cash if my patience was better.

David
Old 01-16-2007, 08:26 PM
  #8  
JPGale
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 488
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Futaba Transmitter

To be quite frank here with you, 100GBP is not a lot for a transmitter, I know from personal experience that most things like this are pound for doller, or at least 1.5 dollers per pound. I currently have the futaba 6exas and it is a good beginners radio, however if you are going to buy a new radio get a Spektrum DX7, they retail at around $350, which at current exchange rate is about 170GBP it works on 2.4GHz so you need to check with the BMFA if it is legal to use but I could not see a problem, then your only concern is to find a compatiable charger as the US is not only on 110 but uses 60Hz rather than the 240 at 50Hz in the UK, again this is not a big problem match the volt and amp out rating of the charger and make adapters if needed. It is 7 channel and I know for a fact that the big 3D gassers (petrol) work with these as I know someone who has one and swears by it. I intend to buy one myself when I next buy a radio unless something better comes along.

The need for a computer radio is nothing to do with bells or whistles and extra switches and stuff, or even different models (not a problem on the DX7), but simply the fact that you do not have to re trim every flight.

If you want a DX7 then try

www.horizonhobby.com

Just one last note if you are interested the DX6 is for small park flyers.

HTH

James

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.